Image

HAPPY MONDAY (NO. 19)

1

44 thoughts on “HAPPY MONDAY (NO. 19)

    • Just in the middle of the prep for Thanksgiving here, Joanne. Bird is in the fridge thawing for his debut on Thursday. Weather the same over here…dusting of snow and the winter coats are on! Have a great week!

      Like

    • Glad you enjoyed, Ajesh!

      As for that corn, it’s probably not PC, but when I was growing up, that corn was always called Indian Corn. I’m really not sure why it was called that or what the purpose of it was, but we always had some around this time of year as decor…..I still enjoy seeing it because it’s so unique-looking.

      Like

      • Dunno about the PC bit. I’m not much into the PC thing, it was called what it was called. Nothing anyone can do about it now. Calling something another name does not fix the attitudes.. So don’t worry about names is what I say.

        On that note: one question I was asked shortly after I started working in the US ( actually at the end of my first week) was asked by a colleague. We were all at the bar at the end of work week and she asked “Are you offended by us calling Native Americans ‘Indians’?”

        I’ve not been able to figure out a response to it… 18 years later. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Like

        • Boy, Ajesh, I’m not sure how you might’ve answered that one either. I do know what you mean though….the whole PC thing is overblown in my opinion…..the attitude is what’s important and calling it another name doesn’t change that….Oh, I think someone else put that much better years ago…..Shakespeare anyone? Hah!

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Anonymous says:

    On the way to our Burgh..tomorrow night, yep, pierogi es. Will be thinking of you. Indian corn has always been traditional. O, gobble, gobble, have.a Happt Thanksgiving Day. A time for thanks for all in our lives. a

    Like

  2. Happy Wednesday πŸ™‚
    Are those corn on the cobs? If they answer is yes, are they edible, they are a weird colour lol
    How is it that you can make the most simple things so photogenic, that’s a skill you didn’t know you had isn’t it πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hi, Juls! As a matter of fact, I didn’t know the answer to your question, but have consulted and have found that there are strains of this Indian corn that are edible (and yes they are on cobs). Most of it now, though, is grown for decorative purposes. It’s big over here this time of year (Thanksgiving is tomorrow!) It comes in a few different varieties. I love how it looks.

      Thanks for the nice compliment. I didn’t know that and really appreciated hearing it! How is it you always know just what to say to brighten my day!???

      Like

Leave a Reply

