WHEN WHAT TO MY WANDERING EYES SHOULD APPEAR……

Life has been pretty hectic lately; thus, not much time to explore.  However, one day this week, my husband had a break in the middle of his workday and we decided to try a new place for lunch.    We sat down, got to grips with the menu, ordered our meals, and then paused to scope out the historical buildings the tavern was located in.  As I looked around, something above my head caught my eye.    Have a look from my vantagepoint…..1 (4)-1One of the elusive Erie FISH that I had not caught yet!  Whoa is me that I left the house with no camera today!   But still, I did have my phone.   I had to stand up and move to a more central location to get a better view and take a quick shot!  (Is there any way better to announce to everyone everywhere that you’re new in town?!)1 (5)-1Something a bit different with this one…..those little blue dots on the eyes and down its back and underside are lights!    How great is that?!   

After a good meal AND catching a fish, I thought this day couldn’t possibly get any better.

I was wrong!  

I screwed up after leaving the tavern and ended up on a street I hadn’t meant to be on.   However, it turned out to be a most opportune mistake! 

Look what I found standing outside a school after I turned the corner!   1 (3)

Can you even believe it?    Not only an uncaught fish, but a frog too!   And how cool is this frog?   Piano-key teeth?   Amazing!   

Feeling quite satisfied with myself and my new captures and sitting down to write this post, I then remembered I also hadn’t shared with you what I found on my trip to the doctor’s office a few weeks ago.   Sadly, the hallway in the office didn’t have the best lighting to fully capture the details and I again had only the camera on my phone but have a look anyway…….

Modestly displayed right on the walls in full-sized poster frames…….1 (6)  1 (2)

1 (1)It looks like the FISH and FROGs are going to be a continuing saga in my life up here and probably in my blog too!   It’s actually ridiculous how excited I get when I find one of these guys now.    But really, a town with hidden surprises when you’re least expecting them.    What could be better?

69 thoughts on “WHEN WHAT TO MY WANDERING EYES SHOULD APPEAR……

    • You know, Cate, I think we may have ended up in just the perfect place for us. It surprises me to say that because I really thought I was in the right place before all this, but I’m really enjoying living here. It’s a place that’s modern, but not so modern that it’s impersonal and yet not so small that there’s nothing to do. Beaches, skiing, trails to hike or bike ride on, boats, segways, and of course these FISH and FROGS to watch out for…..and we’re both most impressed to be in a place that still has a roller rink! How fun is that?!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. What glorious finds indeed! May I ask what in neck of the woods you find yourself? Have you moved recently? Sometimes I wish I had the balls to just up and go to somewhere completely new. Maybe once the boys move out….

    Like

    • Hah. Dale, what a saga you’ve missed. I ended up with this blog only because of the move we made in 2013 which turned out to be a disaster of epic proportions. That move ended up with us moving once again here, to Erie, Pennsylvania, where I’m quite happy to say we seem well-suited and I’M NEVER MOVING AGAIN. As a matter of fact, right after we got here, my husband and I were SO DONE with moving he said when he dies he isn’t even going to “move” to the funeral home and then grave, but instead just be buried in the backyard! LOL. I actually just wrote post about all this moving 2 weeks ago….. maybe you missed it? Something weird happened when it posted and alot of people seemed to miss it….anyway, it gives you a bit of the story….there are a few other posts in here but this one should catch you up a bit….. https://apromptreply.wordpress.com/2015/07/01/out-of-character/

      Liked by 1 person

      • Och! I’m so far behind in my reading (you should SEE my inbox!) because of all the catering I did. So, yeah, I did miss it but am going right now to check it out. Weeds be damned.
        Oh I love your husband! Like he has a choice in the matter. Like he’ll have anything to do with his final “move”! ;P
        Hmmm… I just checked my inbox and nope, it’s not there! Thanks for the link.

        Like

        • Yes, I’m not sure what happened with that post, not everyone got it. And this morning’s didn’t show up on the Reader either until I went in and hit UPDATE though it had been scheduled to and does say it posted at a certain time. The many strange things about WP, huh?

          Weeds also on my agenda today…..ugh. We should live closer and then we could just slough off and have tea and a good laugh instead!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Very weird indeed. WP gets funky sometimes! All of a sudden I was not getting notifications from a blog I follow. I ended up un-following and re-following and all worked out eventually.

            I think we would have a most marvellous time shooting the breeze sipping tea (or something with more personality) and letting the weeds have their way!

            Unfortunately, I want to sell this behemoth and needs must make it presentable. Blech. Talking of moving… I won’t be a major upheaval except in the purging hubby’s stuff department. Not an easy task to let go…but man did my man collect a LOT of shit!

            Like

            • Oh, you are talking to the master of collecting stuff! OMG. The move out of our home was HORRENDOUS trying to get it all sorted and out of there. We had a pipe break occur the winter it was on the market and it ruined alot of stuff……….tore me up to lose it all, but in the end, it probably saved us days of packing when it was time. Ugh. Moving. Never again, I tell you. Never!

              Liked by 1 person

              • Don’t depress me please! We had a water leak (tiny pinhole) that Mick had repaired. He wasn’t finished with the drywall plastering and jointing and whatever the hell you call it when he passed away so he’s left me with a few “issues”. Thankfully, I’ve quite a few handymen in my entourage more than willing to help.
                But oy! The man collected STUFF!!

                Like

              • OMG, Dale! I had no idea! That’s the thing about following a new blog, you’ve missed so much of the backstory! Well, I’m very glad you have the handymen in the entourage and who knows….perhaps you’ll find a winning lottery ticket in all the STUFF as you was through it?! 🙂 Well, one can hope anyway…..

                Liked by 1 person

              • Dale….I read your story last night. I’ve been thinking about you since then. I didn’t want to just leave a quick comment off the cuff. Even falling asleep, I kept thinking about how, if I’d never read this story, I would never have known what a mountain you’re climbing. You seem to have such fortitude and such a positive spin on life with your Grateful Sundays, etc. I am just in awe of how you’ve picked up and moved on when I know you have to be still bleeding in your soul. I’m so humbled by your strength and so totally in awe of your courage to move forward and still give “the boys” a positive springboard for the rest of their lives too. Finally, I want to mention my regret in not “meeting” you on here before now so I could’ve known you “with” him and all the dynamics involved. I know, after a marriage of so many years and so much life lived in those years, that you’re only half yourself without him. I can’t even begin to imagine the wonder of you when he was still with you……you both must have been a force to be reckoned with for sure cause even now you’re far and above anything I could even hope to achieve as far as strength and how to really get the most out of LIFE! Dale, I think you’re one of my new idols!

                Liked by 1 person

              • Oh Torrie. Thank you so much for your kind words. I reread them three times! I guess it is just in my nature to push forward and try to keep a positive front. Mick and I survived the loss of our first son so, frankly, I think I can survive pretty much anything. We had great chemistry (when we weren’t breathing each other’s air! (‘Coz it ain’t a relationship without some ups and downs!) and laughed a lot. He was a pretty fantastic guy and has left a huge gap in our lives and in any one’s who ever met him. Huge personality, open-armed to everyone and all-around good guy. It’s awfully quiet here now.

                The way I see it, we met when we were supposed to! I know I’m pretty chuffed (to coin a British term) to have met you in this Blogosphere! Who knows? We may actually meet live one day!

                Like

              • I really hope we can arrange that……I think you’re in Canada, right? One of my favourite places in the world, so chances are good that we’ll find that moment to make that happen. At least I can be reassured that I’d eat very well if I worked it out right and showed up at one of your catering functions! LOL.

                Dale, keep on doing what you’re doing and know (it seems to me anyway) that you are surrounded by so many people that care and are there to help you with anything you need. I’m glad to count myself in that number now too!

                Liked by 1 person

              • Ironically, my aunt used to have a cottage on Lake Erie, near Port Dover, Ontario. Are you in the City of Erie itself? The lake is a big one… you could be at the whole other side!

                I actually live near Montreal, in Quebec – a good 7 hour drive from Port Dover… Totally doable!

                Like

              • No, we are not in the City….Erie is about 10 minutes from us…….we like our space out here in the ‘burbs!

                Montreal is one of those places I ALWAYS wanted to see……this is definitely doable! Very exciting!

                Like

              • Ah hah! Like me saying I live in Montreal when I’m actually in the ‘burbs. Excellent! Erie is way closer than Cleveland or Toledo! Mind you, would have been even better were you closer to Buffalo! 😉 But still totally doable!

                Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant! Sometimes it’s the unexpected surprises that we get the most enjoyment from!! I love the frog – reminds me of ‘toad’ in ‘wind in the willows’! Looking forward to anymore you spot!! 😊😊😊

    Like

  3. The frog is awesome. If there was a frog in Alice in Wonderland, that would be the frog. The fish creeps me out a bit, I have to say, although it’s totally picture taking material! I think I’ll just call it an EERIE fish, heh, heh!

    Like

  4. I’m beginning to think there’s something a little fishy with that town. I do love them though, bright and colourful additions that they are.
    It’s also quite amazing how the frog spawn ( see what I did there ) at different locations 🙂

    Like

    • Wouldn’t it have been something to see all these on display back in the day?! I feel I should stage a reunion or something for them just so I can enjoy them all in one place! Alas, I guess I’ll have to content myself to stumbling upon them here or there. Even if I did have them all in one place, I don’t know that I could narrow it down to just one though this frog here….he really is something! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I think you’re right … you’re going to continue finding things that delight and amaze you 🙂
    I must say, that frog is brilliant in front of a school … although the bug in his mouth might have a different perspective 😉
    Which reminds me, I found a new moose a few days ago. I really must write a moose post someday.

    Like

    • Hah, yes, Joanne, I noticed that bug too…poor thing! I can’t wait to see that moose post someday….as you know, the only thing I can think of that would be better than the Erie fish and frogs would be my favourite…..Canadian moose!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great find A! I stared at the picture for quiet some time until I could figure out (before I read your post) – very creative and unique A!. Best news is that you really have gotten into Erie and all that it has to offer, I’m thrilled for you and the family!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Mary. I do have to admit, one of the very best things about being here is that it’s easy to capture the excitement about Erie from the “locals.” I thought perhaps people would find it odd that I was so into these frogs and fish so long after the fact, but in bringing it up to one of my new neighbours she proudly told me, “Oh, I have the book!” (Must see that soon….just looking for my opening!) So evidently, we’re not the only ones still into these things!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hah! Now I’m not even sure how to take that, Tonya….”attracting those fish”…..am not sure what fish find attractive! Anyway, they attract me when I find them……probably the only sort of fishing I’ll ever be interested in! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Torrie, I only meant that you really liked the artfulness of the fish per your first post. And, now you seem to “find” them when you’re not expecting to see them. It’s like serendipity! I used to collect antique flower pots, and sometimes I would find them in unusual places. My husband told me I was “attracting” them. 😉🐠🐠🐠

        Like

    • Hah! Thank you, Anna. I do confess…..I tend to go a bit OTT when I’m excited about something……can’t imagine that these FROGS and FISH are so exciting to anyone else, but I’m quite enjoying them! 🙂

      Like

    • Totally agree……I think that’s what I like best about it…knowing we’re not the only ones seeking these out and that’s why there are so many still in place. That little tavern is going to be a regular feature for us I believe, so I would have to say yes…indications are very good that I will be back there and grab some pix with a “real” camera, though I will say….I was quite happy with the frog one even coming from a phone camera. Still surprises me how good the cameras on phones actually are now!

      Like

      • Yes, those phone cameras keep getting better and better. The last one my husband thought about getting could have been advertised as a camera that doubled as a phone!

        Like

  7. Those sculptures are so beautifully colorful. How could they not capture they eye? And I think finding a theme within your life and your blog can make for some unexpected and serendipitous surprises, Torrie. So glad you carry that phone around with you. I’d have hated to miss out on seeing these beauties in all their glory.
    It feels good to find a new place to call home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

