PURPOSEFUL FLUTTERS

Credit Google Image Search

Credit Google Image Search

A.PROMPTreply was prompted by A Momma’s View to write about what I consider to be the purpose of my life. I was gobsmacked when I first received the challenge. I couldn’t imagine how I could ever write this up. But in thinking about it for a few days, I’ve come up with the following as a way to explain my view.

A few years ago, I read a book by Andy Andrews called, “The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters.”  (Let me just say here, if you haven’t read this, you need to.  It’s a very quick read at just over 100 pages.)

Credit: Google Image Search

Credit: Google Image Search

This book really resonated with me, I think, because ultimately it sums up how I view the world and my place in it. Basically, the book uses historical examples to show how even the smallest of our actions can affect the world for years to come. This is mainly how I live my life now…thinking that even the smallest things I do  matter not only now in the interactions I have each day, but very well may impact things down the line.  

As a parent, a wife, a daughter, a sister, and/or a friend, I’m not always front-and-center in a given situation. Sometimes, I’m just supporting cast or even stage crew.  But even behind the scenes, I add touches here and there, provide care, steer things in different directions, make plans, and keep things moving along. Even when someone I know is tossed one of life’s curve balls, I generally try and find a way to make a difference and add something positive to the situation at hand. It’s my belief that the small touches I contribute make a difference. First, perhaps by teaching someone something new, shouldering a burden with someone, or adding my vehemence to someone else’s quest, my action/response is perceptible at the level it’s given.

After that, the response I made will be reacted on or responded to by someone else who will pass on that response/reaction to the next person with their own level of feeling and so on, and so on. The reactions continue until they reach the place where their impact is most needed/desired/used and a new outcome is demonstrated or path created. Hence, my initial contribution is now in a place I’ll probably never see and yet, the early ripples I created are having impact. This is the butterfly effect.

Of course, this butterfly effect goes both ways….your negative actions also have huge impacts – impacts you may never see but the effects of which could resonate for years. Therefore, it is quite important that we think about our actions and be sure that we’re making good decisions and not just reacting in the heat of the moment. For me, at least, this is always a work in progress.

This is how I live. Me, in my own world doing the things that I do, making the choices I make, influencing the people around me, and understanding that the ripples from my ‘wing flutters’ will be more far-reaching than I’ll ever know is more than enough purpose for me.

Credit: Google Image Search

Credit: Google Image Search

Stepping out of my usual form with this one, I would like to tag Joanne Sisco over at My Life Lived Full and Carol over at Which Way Now 101 to take on this challenge.  Carol, however, is currently a one-armed blogger so we understand it might be a while before she can get to this.   No pressure, Joanne and Carol, but I’d really enjoy hearing what you come up with.   I’m sure you’ll both have a MOST interesting take on things!

70 thoughts on “PURPOSEFUL FLUTTERS

  1. Thanks for taking an interest in my little life, Torrie. I think I need to read that book first and see what I can figure out. I feel a bit directionless at the moment as my blog title suggests. I’m also still one armed (or one thumbed on my phone) with the occasional inaccurate jab with my right index finger.
    May you continue to have your butterfly effect on those lucky people around you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hah, Carol. You have anything but a “little” life! I do understand your quandry with all the upheaval and everything being left of centre right now. I am interested in your thoughts on this. There is no expiration date on my interest or this prompt. Perhaps this will rattle around in your brain for a while and down the line you’ll be able to at least answer it for yourself if not for blog fodder. Right now, I’m content just to have you fulfill your purpose in entertaining us on here with your posts and wry humour! Hang in there, Carol. Sunny days on the way for your world too!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I would have to agree with you on your butterfly effect for I think much the same way. If you think of the Earth’s biosphere as a giant ocean of air, we are in fact creating ripples with even the smallest of actions.

    Great post, Torrie and there is no doubt in my mind that you are positively impactly the lives of people around you ❤ I've mentioned it before, but even the comments you leave on the various blogs you follow are always thoughtful and supportive with a healthy dash of humour tossed in.

    I will respond to your challenge after I've had some time to chew on it. Since I tend to overthink everything, this is – not surprisingly – a topic I've taken around the block a few times 😉

    Like

  3. Miriam says:

    Very nice. I sometimes think about people who are the opposite- they may have a clearly defined and important “purpose” in life, yet on a small scale they may not effect positive change in the lives of those around them. Doing good in small, quiet ways is valuable too, even if it often goes unrecognized.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very nice. I am much the same. I think we are the cumulation of all the stuff we do; those little things add up and compound. Like we leave a wake behind us as we move through life and hopefully/ideally it’s the kind that others feel positively. I am not setting the world on fire but lighting a lot of matches! (I think I have introduced no less than 3 metaphors in this comment…)

    Like

    • I like your metaphors especially the one about the matches….that’s exactly it for me, I think. Will give you the record for most metaphors in a comment. Consider yourself the early leader on that! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. One of the good things about our blogging world is the surprises that are sometimes sprung. I like it when something thought provoking occurs and I enjoyed reading your response. Carol’s pretty quick with her single digit so you never know 🙂

    Like

    • Oh my! You sound much braver than me. I always feel woefully inadequate on stuff like this. I really appreciate your comments. Yes, that Carol is one of our brightest surprises here in the blogosphere, isn’t she? Lots of fun and you’re right…..we definitely never know WHICH WAY she’ll go NEXT!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love your description of the butterfly book and how it’s made such an impact on your life. I’ve friends who have often referred to it too, but I’ve never picked it up. It’s now on my book-reading list – see the ripples you’re making already!! 🙂

    Like

  7. What a wonderful post. I would just like to say how some of the ripples from your butterfly effect have touched me, You are right in that you do certainly make a difference. You are one of the most supportive bloggers, always there with an encouraging and positive comment, That means so much to me, and is very much appreciated. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  8. AGNES says:

    You are the butterfly in my life. One day you landed on my shoulder, picked me up on your wings and have carried me thru many life’s issues. gratitude to your free spirit. LOL

    Like

    • I only had the strength to carry you because you found me first and re-infused my soul, lady! I appreciate the compliment, but am sending one right back at you…..you’re one of the only reasons I made it through MD. I was ready to give up and then there was you….new and yet familiar, teaching me how to live again…

      Like

  9. It was really great to read your positive spin on this theory and I have no doubt you are creating many wonderful and helpful ripples around you. But I’m also glad you mentioned the opposite effect as I’ll confess my mind went there first. In a sort of “oh crap” way. Too many mistakes made in my life and I dread to think of the far-reaching consequences.

    Like

  10. I’ve never read The Butterfly Effect but I’ve always believed in the concept. The world is a big puzzle and we’re all an important piece. Maybe even our blogs cause tiny reverberations in ways we don’t know.

    Like

  11. The philosophy of what goes around comes around is at play here. I will definitely take a look at this book. Also, the image you have added towards the end is wonderful! 🙂

    Like

  12. The pervasive image I had reading this was of a butterfly struggling through a breeze or in front of a fan. I think it’s like that, sometimes, that our ripples can impact others, but are also impacted by so much around us. Just have to keep the wings flapping.

    Friends this self-aware are wonderful to have around.

    Like

  13. Love this post Torrie. I’ve tried 5 times to like it but apparently my phone thinks Friday is a good day for being an arse!

    It’s staggering to think of all the interactions we will have in our lifetime that will have an effect, either good or bad!

    Thankfully, you have had a positive effect on me lol 🙂

    Like

    • Ah, thank you, Juls. And yes, I hadn’t actually thought it out to the point of a lifetime……wow! That is a huge amount of interaction and you’re right…..it is staggering to think of what an effect we have even unknowingly!

      Thanks Juls!

      Like

  14. I’ve heard of this book but it never crossed my path. Hmmm… may have to check it out. I think your way o living is just the way it should be. I have become a very mindful person and I guess that is along the same thinking. I just didn’t take the time to think of the far-reaching repercussions of each and every mindful act I do.

    Like

    • Mind blowing….yes, that’s exactly how this book affected me. It was if at last someone had put into words all the jumbled thoughts in my head and made sense of it! (Not an easy task with my mind, I assure you!) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

