FIVE PHOTOS, FIVE STORIES (DAY 1)

Emilio over at Photos by Emilio invited me to join in the 5 photos, 5 stories challenge.    If you haven’t viewed Emilio’s awesome photos and seen his unique finishing touches, you really must pay him a visit.   In addition to being quite the digital artist, he’s also one of the nicest bloggers I’ve met on here.  

This challenge entails posting one photo a day (for five days) with a story, poem, or paragraph about it.  I’ve really struggled with this challenge because most of the participants I’ve seen have had a theme to their stories and a theme for my own entry eluded me.  However, I’m pleased to say I’ve come up with one now thanks to this first photo which I really enjoy and wanted to base my challenge around.  Welcome to my 5 photos, 5 stories challenge built on a theme of:

WEIRDNESS AT THE LOUVRE

My entries were taken in 2013 when we made a trip to Paris.  Our first day, we tackled the Louvre to appease my husband who is into museums of all sorts but especially loves art museums.  My son (then 13) was, how shall I say it?, less than impressed.  Art, I guess, isn’t a thing you’re born appreciating.   What I found taking a child to the Louvre who hadn’t had a whole lot of exposure to art before then was that he really wasn’t interested.   Oh, he had things he wanted to see because we had talked about them, but for those of you that have visited, I’m sure you’ll know how underwhelming the Mona Lisa actually is on first glance after all the build up it gets.  

Anyway, I made it my quest to get him engaged with the art while we were there.   All around the great halls we went and I had him mimicking the statues, looking for dogs (his favourite!) in the paintings, and by the end of our visit it was he who came upon a great sculpture and proclaimed it the Goblet of Fire (from the Harry Potter films).   At that point, I knew I had him engaged.    Mission accomplished.  

Today, I’ll leave you with one of my favourite ‘mugs’ of one of his interactions with the artwork. 

1 (1)

Tomorrow, we’ll venture outside the Louvre and show you a few very curious things we viewed there! 

 

64 thoughts on “FIVE PHOTOS, FIVE STORIES (DAY 1)

    • Thanks, Jodi. Getting him engaged and interested in things that he doesn’t take time to appreciate is high on my list of priorities. Well, at least it was then. Now, of course, it’s all about keeping him unengaged with the girls!

      Like

    • Hmmm, you know I’m quite sure it was the sculpture…my son is not known for his long attention span! LOL. However, I did have him try and mimic the poses and hold it for a bit as the sitters must have done for the artwork to be created back in the day just to point out how sitting there wasn’t the easiest job in the world either.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh. I think much of my time as a parent has been spent trying to find ways to bridge gaps like this one and give them at least a beginning on making the world their own oyster……this one actually turned out to be quite fun for me to watch.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I came to an appreciation of art rather late in life, all things considered. It’s when I realized that you could “read” a painting, that there were stories and symbols and messages embedded in them, that my interest piqued. Now I am a bit of a maniac about it all. Lovely to meet your son and that you exposed him to art. That’s a first step.

    Like

  2. I wish you were with me when I visited the Louvre. I’m not a museum person … I admit they bore me to tears and I need to work really hard at trying to appreciate what I’m looking at.
    Your son was lucky to have someone make it fun for him 🙂
    LOVE the picture 🙂

    Like

    • What a sweet thing to say, Joanne! I’m so flattered. I will let you in on a bit of a secret…..I also abhor museums as much as my husband adores them! Probably when I was trying to get son engaged, I was also trying to keep myself from falling asleep! LOL. I think we both came out of there with a better appreciation…him from me getting him engaged and me from watching him be engaged so charmingly.

      Like

  3. Well, done, Torrie. A massive challenge engaging a young teenager in a museum. I’m so glad no fussy docent or guards hauled you all away for trying to “engage” with the art. It’s really quite a brilliant technique.

    Like

    • Hah! Thank you for the praise…I do think, however, we need not have worried about any complaints…..the people in charge of complaining see much much worse on their way to work I think! 🙂

      Like

    • Yes, I wondered where you were this week. And I hadn’t thought when I posted this series that it’s right up your alley, isn’t it? You are the ultimate street photographer/blogger! Am glad you made it over to check it out…..better late than never it is!

      Like

      • oh did you say ultimate? ha! ***huge smile*** and it is really just my focus in pictures this year – even though (like you) – I sometimes noticed interesting stuff – 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

