NEW FRONTIERS AND A CHOCOLATE-COVERED FISH

One of the very best things about moving to a new place is that you have no preconceived notions about where to go and what to do for a quite a while so you just keep trying new things.    One day last week, my husband had the day off so we decided to tick off another of our ‘new places’ for lunch.   We set the satnav and took off for the 20-minute ride to the restaurant.   Lunch was just okay, but we were both surprised to see a lovely park nearby with lots of spring blooms.    Even though it was raining, we decided to break out the umbrellas and have a bit of a look around.   

Frontier Park, Erie, Pennsylvania.    Check out the view that peaked our interest! 

1 (1)And oh, I would’ve loved to have used this shot in Jude’s Bench Challenge!   Alas, I didn’t get this in time for April’s Benches with a View and Metal Benches aren’t till September.   So Jude, better late (or early) than never, right?  Or is that bending the rules again?1 (2)Far from being a bad thing, the rain actually seemed to highlight the magnificent scenery as we headed into the park…1 (3)1 (12)1 (19)We were happy to find trails that ran alongside the creek.   1 (6)1 (4)

1 (5)And certainly the views of the quaint little bridges were picturesque…1 (10)1 (13)1 (14)…even with the bold colours of spring determined to be front and center sometimes. 1 (11)And of course, just because it was too late/early, I stumbled on yet another bench with a view!1 (16)I mean just look at that magnificent tree!1 (15)And all this says nothing of the signs of spring popping out all over!1 (7)1 (8)Not only waking up, but gloriously exploding right in front of us!1 (9)And even then, this surprising place wasn’t done with me…right before we left, we noticed quite a few trees near the water looking a bit precarious and thought how strange it was that someone would leave a job half done like this….1 (20)But then we figured it out.  It must be the work of beavers!  Might have to come back and see if I can get a view of them at some point. But for now, it was time to leave….1 (18)An unexpected find on our luncheon outing….but wait!  There’s more!

Returning to our vehicle, we were taking one last look at the park and then turned around, glanced across the street, and saw this!1 (27)After our lackadaisical lunch, my husband (a more dedicated chocoholic you never have met!) was salivating as he looked across the road and spied this. So of course we had to have a look….

On our way in, we found yet another of the quirky Erie Fish (might have to do a whole post on them later)! But for now, let me introduce you to the Chocolate-Covered Bassberry!1 (21)And look how much effort was put into the exterior of this place!1 (22)But of course, that wasn’t the main attraction for my husband…he was already on his way inside…..I had to run to catch up!

Evidently, Romolo’s is a family-owned pursuit1 (25)With some local pride too!1 (24)And I just love places where you get a glimpse behind the scenes….1 (23)And my husband was not disappointed…1 (28)1 (1)

1 (29)He even took time to check out their Cocoa Cafe.  Not a great surprise I suppose since he loves his coffee just as much as his chocolate.  Put the two together and I begin to have serious concerns…..1 (2) And even more worryingly……do they deliver????  1 (26)So perhaps not the outing we originally planned, but a good afternoon nonetheless in an area I’m sure we’re going to be seeing alot of in future.

Anyone around here hungry?

99 thoughts on “NEW FRONTIERS AND A CHOCOLATE-COVERED FISH

  1. I would love to have a park like that nearby! We have a big fat nothing around here lol. We have parks, but the flat nothing ones with a playground and that’s about it. I LOVE chocolate, but it’s good there is not one of those places near me! I already struggle with weight lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hah! Yes, I am now seriously worried about my husband….I do hope he doesn’t try and find out if they actually do deliver! You can pop over and we’ll visit my park anytime, GrannyK! I think it would be a fun outing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those photos are a veritable riot of colours Mrs Prompt, gorgeous! And that chocolate, well..right up my alley. I was so excited when I read that title…in New Zealand where I was born and lived until I was seven, chocolate fish are a childhood treat. Marshmallow shaped fish covered in chocolate..I am off to NZ tomorrow with my three sisters to visit a very ill beloved uncle. I love your big chockie fish and can’t wait to eat some really soon.

    Like

    • Who knew? Here I thought I would gross everyone out thinking of a chocolate-covered fish and now I find you’re excited about it and even looking forward to finding some! I hope you have a good visit tomorrow. Very sorry about the ill uncle….do hope he improves! Am thinking you should take him one of your culinary masterpieces and make his day!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mine is home today, actually, since it is a bank holiday. No lovely walks in the park for me, though, APR… he’s outside digging out turf to lay a patio and I’ve just been summoned to gravel raking duty. *sigh* I must console myself with the fact that the remaining 99.5% of my life is pretty much mine to use or waste at leisure… 🙂 xx

        Like

        • Hmmm…..well, considering the fact that the patio was probably something you desired, I will have to give HH due credit. However, that whole gravel-raking duty thing………hmmm….am thinking your time with the chickens might be better spent training them for these mundane tasks???? 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Such beautiful photos! What a wonderful day! My kinda outing for sure! How much we have in common 🙂 LOVE the chocolate covered fish! Hey – have you tried SPONGE Candy yet? Erie is famous for it, and I LOVE IT!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Okay, now you’ve had me wondering all day while I was out and about and unable to respond but had seen your message before I left….let’s hear it…..I never even noticed the microbrewery next door to that (probably running too fast to keep up with husband!) but how do you know this area so intimately?

      Like

      • I have no idea what’s there. Although I have driven past Erie many times on I90 (thanks to William Henry Harrison), I have never strayed farther from the highway than the Cracker Barrel. There are two things that could make that spot perfect: a microbrewery or a great northeastern style ethnic pizzeria. Since Erie is wine country, I sided with microbrewery. If it were on the other side of the state, I would have said pizzeria.
        Now you know the secret to my methods.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Aha! Caught you! Only thing I saw next door to that place was a diving store. I wondered how I missed this whole microbrewery thing you mentioned. Next time you travel I-90, you’ll have to let me know and I’ll introduce you to food far better than CB around here!

          Like

  4. The explosion of flowers, the bench, that majestic tree and err.. the fish too. You had a great time 🙂 I liked the yellow building too! Fresh photographs to go through after a long working Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, you know, there I was getting into looking at some nature scenes and all of a sudden…boom…chocolate!! Hello beautiful! It’s strange that your husband is the chocoholic of the family. Usually it’s the woman. Well, I say, strange, but wonderfully strange!

    Like

  6. Just when you think a day off together can’t get any better … a beautiful park to explore AND chocolate!!

    I loved your pictures in the park – especially the trees with the raindrops clinging to the branches. Sometimes rainfalls give off that funny “half light” which seems to make colours really pop. It looks like that was the kind of day you had.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What fabulous photographs, Torrie; I’m delighted you had such a fantastic outing. I also love nature, and spring is my favourite season. On our side of the pond, everything is also, well, springing to life. It makes me so glad to be alive!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You’re killing me, Torrie, as I’m trying to drop a few ell-bees before a big trip next month. I’ll just ogle the lovely bridge and tree pictures and not return to the chocolate. But then again…..LOL!

    Like

  9. Oh my goodness …. I was reading with jealousy about the park and how green the grass was, the blossom looks absolutely divine – and then you stumble upon gods gift of chocolate heaven! I love the fish and I must admit, I’d have long forgotten the park and would be returning on a regular basis to sample their new chocolatey delights! How brilliant is that find!!! 🍫🍫🍫

    Like

  10. OK I found you! And not only benches with views, but also a coloured bench (August) so you ARE doing well. You should link this with Restlessjo’s Monday Walks too – we both love a wander around a park or a garden and who doesn’t ❤ chocolate? That's definitely a place to return to again and again and again and…

    😀
    Jude xx

    Like

  11. Agnes. Watko says:

    I enjoyed our walk today…it was refreshing, after being shut in, now with.84 temp. I loved the stone entrance. And the restaurant. Was that a chocolate factory ? send the chocolate fish down here but as a rockfish….what interesting places you have. Xxxxoooo

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    • Hey, I wondered where you were! Nice to see you back on here! 84 is a far-cry from here for sure…..it’s been pouring rain all day and we’re still in our jackets! And yes, that was very much a chocolate factory! You’ll have to come get that fish yourself, I’m afraid…..This is an Erie fish and I’m not sure it could survive the trip to you in those sorts of temps! 🙂

      Like

  12. What an interesting day out you had. Love that chocolate covered fish. He’s so cute that I couldn’t possibly think of eating him. 🙂 The spring blossoms are just magnificent, and the bench photos very inviting.

    Like

  13. How very appropriate! A tin of Polish chocolates (unopened, as yet! but they won’t last long when they are 🙂 ) is sitting on the settee, invitingly. Thank you so much for the walk. I love that it’s possible to make a rainy day still look good. The ‘magdanolias’ (in Polish) were looking good in my cousin’s garden too. And that fishy post sounds rather interesting 🙂 🙂

    Like

    • Oh! Am very glad you enjoyed the walk. And I’m actually doubly glad you popped over to tell us about the tin of Polish chocolates….that’s one I never would’ve gotten on my own. Working on getting the necessary photos for the fish post….stay tuned……

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Hi!
    I love it when you visit my blog; I get to see your cute little avatar. Thanks for the visits on Wednesday! I’m glad you liked my posts. (Still Wednesday here in CA!)
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

