SPRING PERSPECTIVES

So, as I sit here and wait for spring to finally take us out of the snow and into some new and exciting colours, I find myself bitterly disappointed every day when I go looking for some big sign that spring is finally here.  I’m ready to photograph some bright bold colours.  I want new sights to see.  I’m ready and waiting for my first spring in my new area.

Instead….this is what I find – 1

Oh, it’s beautiful scenery, don’t get me wrong.   I’ll take those browns, golds, oranges, and greens any day of the week!   But…..you know, I’m just READY!    

My mood didn’t improve when I read Barbara’s post on here yesterday.   Barbara lives a bit south of us in the state of Virginia.  She’s already out having spring walks, gardening, and she’s posted some photos of spring flowers!   Drat! I wish this was me!

However, as I was reading Sylvia’s latest post and seeing how much snow she still has in her part of the north, I quickly rethought all those “Drats!” I had been muttering.   Don’t get me wrong, I love winter.   I love snow.   But I think part of loving winter and snow is that after you’ve had a proper, good, old-fashioned, storybook wintertime with lots of snow and icicles, you do tend to look forward to spring a bit more than if you didn’t have that snow in the first place.    

After reading Sylvia’s post, I began to be a bit more grateful for just the little signs I’m already seeing here through the rainy days we’re having…..We’ve had a whole week without snow! This is an amazing thing after six months of winter and snow on the ground.

And now….Small but mighty signs showing us that, being uncovered of snow, the earth is quietly waking up from its winter hibernation…..

2 (1)

1 (1)

2 (3) And slowing unfolding to share spring treasures….

1 (5)

1 (6)

Even above us…….buds abound! 1 (4)And everywhere, there is evidence that the majesty of spring is already unfurling!1 (2)This is MY spring so far and I’ll take it!

How far along is YOUR spring right now?

 

71 thoughts on “SPRING PERSPECTIVES

  1. I love these photos depicting the arrival of a new season! We are in full bloom down here in South Carolina, and we are also in full pollen/ allergy suffering season. Here’s hoping you join us soon (well, on the full bloom part anyway)!

    Like

  2. We didn’t get any snow (that’s the third winter the beautiful wooden sledge has gone unused for anything other than as a Christmas prop). So I think you’re right, the impact of spring is less when you’re moving from grey to a bit less grey.
    I have tulips in my kitchen though. That’s spring for me.

    Like

    • GSM! You have a wooden sledge? Oh, I am so jealous! I mean really truly jealous! I haven’t had one of those since I was a kid and while it couldn’t be described as beautiful, it was REALLY fun! I mean REALLY FUN! No snow at all for the third year running? I do think you need to pack up those children and your sledge next winter and come spend a week over here! Noodles and Boo would love it and that sledge would get some serious use with all our snow!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know! It’s a tragedy! I had a wooden sledge as a kid (my grandad made it) and I have such good memories of being pulled along on it. So, after Noodles and Boo played with my neighbours one (in their house!) I bought one. It hasn’t snowed since. It teased us with a flurry earlier on in the year, but it had melted by morning. Poor Boo’s face!
        I would give my back teeth for some proper snowy fun!

        Like

        • Now isn’t that just the thing….you buy one and the snow disappears! There is something wonky about that whole Gluestick Luck, isn’t there?!

          Having funny visions of your children playing on a sledge in a house! LOL.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. March was beautiful and warm. April is usually a frustrating month with rain, snow, hail, wind, thunderstorms and anything else in between. But, I just live through it as I know that we need that moisture to have water for the summer. I love your pictures. Spring flowers are the best!

    Like

    • “March was beautiful and warm”???? Really? We had alot of snow on the ground into April! I do like the perspective on the April moisture though..I will try and think of that when I’m out there trying to walk through the muddy yards! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful Pics! It’s getting there. The mid west is the same in the regard that brown and gray everywhere – BUT it sprung last week – Spring Sprung! The grass (crab grass) is green and flowers are coming – April showers (and hail and wind) are here…….and we will mow the lawn for the first time this Saturday! It’s coming!
    cate

    Like

  5. Spring here is weird, it’s cloudy in the morning and then the sun comes out in the afternoon and it gets hot. We had a few days in the 80s and 90s there at the beginning but now it’s kind of chilly with these morning clouds. I’m glad you are finally seeing some spring in your neck of the woods. It’s well deserved!

    Like

  6. It’ll definitely be worth the wait!! We’re the same – snow almost gone now and grass is slowly recovering, birds are coming out & even the winter hare is starting to turn brown from white! It’ll be interesting to see how quickly everything starts to flourish! 😊😊

    Like

  7. I am also ready for spring! On my drive to work this morning, I only saw a few mounds of melting snow. Most of the ground is clear, thankfully. Now if only we had sunshine and warmth. I was spoiled last month when I traveled to Australia – there were flowers!

    Like

  8. We’re getting there but not fast enough for me. Finally seeing the grass and its getting green. And there are some flowers out there if I look hard enough.

    Like

    • That’s exactly it, George…if we look hard enough. Ugh! I’m so excited to see what pops up around here this spring…..with all this water right now I just know it’s got to be a feast of growth and wild colours once we get the temps up just a bit and a little dryout going on!

      Like

  9. I’m ready for Spring too. We had flowers come up last week, only to die from snow that fell a couple days later. So, now we’ve started over. The little buds of life that you have photos of, certainly give hope that Spring is here…just taking a while.

    Like

    • Oh, thank you, Barbara, I am glad you enjoyed! I certainly hope you’re right that it’s on the way here…..though I took that little shot of the 3 purple flowers yesterday and today there are SIX! The grass appears greener each day as well. But…….as I sit here it’s just started raining even harder outside…..I am crossing fingers that there are days we do actually get to exist out-of-doors up here! 🙂

      Like

  10. Fabulous photographs, Torrie – as always. I’m so pleased you are enjoying all those beguiling early signs of spring. Ours has been slow in coming but is finally here, and there are splendid daffodils everywhere. I have walked solidly for the past week and have been enjoying skylarks over higher ground. And, of course, the lambs have arrived; some are tiny and utterly irresistible. When the sun is out – as it has been this past week – I feel so happy I could jump for joy. Enjoy your spring!

    Like

    • Thank you, Anna. Oh, lambs! I’d not even thought of the little spring lambs! I’m thrilled you’re enjoying your spring so much, it does sound as if it’s put a spring in your step if nothing else! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Your photos of the green shoots poking out of the ground cheered me up a bit. We’re still not getting temperatures in the ‘normal’ range and there is no sign of life yet.
    If you’re seeing signs of spring, surely we can’t be far behind 🙂

    Like

  12. We seem to be yoyo-ing between beautiful warm sunny days and cold, murky, foggy, wet urk. On the plus side loads of spring flowers are flowering, some have finished already, and the ground has finally got dry enough for me to mow the grass. Today I even walked the do without a coat! (on me, not him!)
    Finally we have turned a corner. I hope yours turns soon. The lovely pictures on your blog show that it’s not long coming, I hope. 🙂

    Like

    • Ah, another one mowing the grass! That sweet smell of just-mowed grass…that sounds heavenly right now! I hope you’re right and it’s not long coming, but I fear it’s going to be rain, rain, and more rain for at least the next week over here…….am thinking I may need a second pair of Wellies at this point!

      Like

  13. Won’t be long now. The signs are all there! I’m waiting for the bluebells to come out here and hoping to get some great pics. We go from snowdrops to crocuses to daffodils to bluebells to tulips to summer. I love that progression!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow. You really seem to know your plants! I think you were the one that diagnosed my poor Dalmatian Tree and now I find that you even know the timings of spring flowers! I am impressed. Do agree with you too, I’m all about getting some pix of spring things! I look forward to seeing your bluebells!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. We’ve had much rain this Spring, it giving much needed hydration to our parched land – so I’m happy to report our colors are spectacular this year. Flowers, flowers everywhere! Yours have finally started to pop, just wait the best is yet to come.

    Like

    • Ugh. Sorry about all that mud….we’ve got our fair share here, but without the 2 dogs…our dog so small, he’s more like a cat! Am impressed your tulips are up! I’m still waiting to see what pops out around here!

      Like

  15. Is that a cockscomb you’ve got growing there, Torrie? Wow! I adore that flower. Truly magnificent specimens.
    I love the way you’re pulled in both directions of wanting to whinge, but realizing it could be worse. That’s always an eye-opener for me, and I have a lot of experience with whinging. I went to both links and I can immediately see what you mean. Opposite ends of the spectrum for those lovely ladies.
    Living in Virginia (like Barbara), spring has sprung. It’s flowering and greening and budding profusely. Still, I do love winter – and just like you, I want the storybook season to experience in full so that I can enjoy the warmth and renewal of what’s to come.
    And I wanted to especially thank you for the beautiful words you shared on my post today. You have no idea how touching and inspiring they were. You have a special gift of giving warmth, Torrie. I’m lucky to see your expressions of kindness each week. They are dear to me.
    Cheers

    Like

    • Shelley, I’m afraid I have no idea on the flowers at all. This promises to be one of my new areas of education up here I think. I’m glad the post spoke to you and glad to know you’re a kindred spirit on the whole “storybook winter” thing though I do take that with the understanding that your driveway is not your favourite part of the storybook winters!

      As for your flattering words, I’m glad my comments meant something to you,….I can’t imagine the burden that you’re carrying right now with your daughter having to deal with so much. I think that must be the very hardest part of being a parent is watching them struggle and being powerless to fix it for them. But I do know that if she’s anything like her mother at all, she’s going to get herself through things in fine style and I’m sure you’ll be right there waiting to cheer her on. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

