SEGUEING INTO SPRING!

Google Image Search

I know there are a lot of people excited about spring finally starting to arrive this year.   It’s been a long winter and I know many of you have felt like this…..

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

However, as excited as you might be……there are a few trying things about this transition from winter to spring.

First off, this is the time of year when you remember that a winter-coat body and a swimsuit body are NOT the same thing.  It’s time to change this sort of thinking…..

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Another thing about this time between seasons is your dog. He’s going to take longer to find that “ultimate place” to GO because the areas of snow are less and less. He has to re-learn that GOING on the grass is the norm.  Allow extra time for this.

No more hiding inside because it’s warm….you’ll now be out and be social!

Being out and being social in the warming spring sun means that instead of hiding under layers of clothes, we have to start caring about what we wear again.

But….you never know what to wear because the weather keeps sending mixed signals.  Be positive and dress for spring, but take along a light jacket, gloves, and maybe even a blanket just in case!

And of course Daylight Savings Time steals an hour of sleep just to set the stage for longer days.  Here’s another place that blanket you brought along just might come in handy in case you have a chance for a short nap somewhere along your way….

Google Image Search

The bikers in their Lycra will show up on the roads again. Riding bikes is good. I ride a bike myself.  But why, oh why must they all wear Lycra?  I do not wear Lycra.  I especially do not wear white Lycra.

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

My personal worst thing about this time of year…….the insects return.  Bugs really bug me.     Time to restock the repellent!

And of course there’s also Spring break…stock up the food!

Google Image Search

Be sure and schedule a week for yourself after their spring break because then it really isn’t long till they’re out for the summer.  

Spring means the arrival of allergies for some….

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Coupled with rain, rain, and more rain for all.   Great for those newly-growing plants, but not so much fun for us.

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

And unfortunately, there are harvests in the spring perhaps better not mentioned…….

Google Image Search

But of course, there is a whole lot to look forward to as we move into spring……I’m sure you all have your own list.  Mine includes:

Actually seeing our mailbox again! It’s no longer buried in snow!

Rediscovering the shoe collection and putting away the boots!  And for those of you into flip flops….this is your moment!

If you’re anything like my husband, you’ll be thrilled to see ice cream is back on the menu.

Breaking out the grill, it’s time to barbeque!

Farmers’ markets start to reappear slowly but surely.

And it’s time to collect the Maple syrup!

But most importantly……..Nature is in its glory during spring! Prepare to be dazzled!

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

 What are you most looking forward to with the arrival of spring?   

95 thoughts on “SEGUEING INTO SPRING!

  1. This was a real and humorous take 🙂 Especially loved the images you added. I am loving the burst of colors although winter is my kind of season. Grilled cheese, hot chocolate and a quilt make my day!

    Like

    • Oh, you are speaking my language here…quilts, hot chocolate, and grilled cheese….it doesn’t get better than that. This is me saying good-bye to my lovely winter and trying to get psyched up for spring……I am looking forward to all the splendid colours of spring, but I am with you….winter is definitely where it’s at!

      Like

  2. I am shell shocked at the lack of snow photos in your post! Ha! Just don’t eat too much of your daughter cakes If you are pondering swimwear. Surely bather shopping is one of the most hideous things to shop for? I think the BBQ’s, maple syrup and farmers markets sound super! So strange as we slide into our much less chillier autumn and winter here. (Ps hope you find your razor for those legs…😁)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, am happy to have shocked you this time. I admit I did feel strange not having any winter shots to post.
      Here’s hoping I find many new spring displays to get into in the next few weeks!

      I know that razor’s around here somewhere…….. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, yes. I’ve not got a small boy anymore…just a teenage eating machine, so I had forgotten about the getting-them-out-and-burning-off-energy thing. That is a BIG plus. And we’ve just bought this house and there actually is a garden in the back. We’ve never had garden before so this will be a new thing for us! Hadn’t thought of that one either! Thanks for another good reason to look forward to spring!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well said! There is always a flip side to everything and as much as I love spring, I’m not so fond of the bugs and seasonal allergies! Seeing the first buds and the return of colour is magical and I’m soooo ready!

    Like

  4. Wow, I think you have covered all bases in this spring thing. Of course, here in L.A. the coming of spring is taken a lot more casually. With temps heading into the 90s this week, we just flew through spring on to summer!! Funny though, Southern California springs usually mean chilly cloudy mornings with the sun burning off the clouds for a hot afternoon. Makes it difficult to decide what to wear!

    Like

    • Hmmm…..running in Pittsburgh requires you being part mountain goat so you can get up all the hills and the other part slalom skiier to avoid obstacles in your way! Though I guess you could just run down any obstacles with the double stroller in front of you. 🙂

      Like

      • Ha, running while pushing the double stroller is way too advanced fior me! Which is why I limit myself to running once a week on the weekends when my husband is home. And definitely about the mountain goat! But the good news is you dont have to go far to get a good workout, what with the hills.

        Like

  5. Wahaaaay – nice post, APR! Very nice indeed – and too true as well! (Especially the “spring harvest” bit, which will extend to various unmentionable fields as well!) What I’m most looking forward to is the return of leaves on the trees! We have buds and lots of promise, some early flowering trees (cherry), but the naked gray branches are now just getting depressing. Also looking forward to being able to ditch the jacket and blanket! Bring on the sunshine… that lasts more than 2 seconds between clouds. (BTW, I have not forgotten about my Happy Place post, long overdue though it is… hopefully this weekend, I have to reef out a bunch of photos for it. 🙂 ) MH

    Like

    • Yes, will admit leaves on trees will be wonderful…..will make me look forward to the autumn! Also, will be happy to ditch the jackets and blankets here as well. I have been awaiting your Happy Places…..am hopeful they are not all going to be pix of a chicken coop? 🙂 Hey, why is it asking me to follow you on here? I’ve been following you almost the whole year I’ve been on here and now I’m not? Grief. Will click and see what happens. Love WP. Really, I do.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha! Just found this comment buried in the nest… my apologies! Yes, my happiness post should be coming soon. I have to track down some photos first – I already know where I’m going with it all, just need to put it all together now… 🙂

        Like

      • Oh, Torrie, you are fabulously talented! I really do delight in true talent – such as yours – and think you should be published so that many more people can enjoy your writing. Then again, maybe you already are – I’m not sure. Either way, you deserve to be!

        Like

        • Anna, I have sat here absolutely stunned for an hour trying to think of what to say to such a grand compliment. I still haven’t come up with anything except to say thank you. Your encouragement means so much. I’ve not ever been published and truthfully, I have no idea what I’d ever write that would get published. I do enjoy the blogging and writing has always been a good outlet for me, but I’m so very honoured that you shared this praise with me. Thank you. I can’t tell you what it means to me!

          Liked by 1 person

    • Ah thank you!….finally someone who understands about lycra and bad bodies. White lycra the worst!

      Yes, I admit, I wasn’t aware until this morning that your part of the world was heading into autumn! How weird to think about that! I thought it was only the day/night timezone things that were different, now I find out it’s even the seasons! So much I just don’t know!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Images are great! I especially love the forested legs. Even winter in California has me reaching for the razor. I guess once a northerner always a northerner or maybe it’s a subconscious biological manifestation of solidarity. Happy it’s warming up for you.

    Like

    • Dear Lord, Donna! “…subconscious biological manifestation of solidarity..”????!!! OMG.

      Glad you enjoyed! Thanks for probably the most syllabic comment I’ll probably have on my blog ever!

      Like

  7. We’ve not had any real snow this year, which has made me a little sad, but I’m still glad spring is on its way. The allergy picture made me chuckle, so true in this house. Thank goodness for anti-histamines, eh? 🙂

    Like

  8. Well I’ve worn my flip flops all winter – indoors that is. I started getting funny looks outside by early December. Spring is in full flood here and I just LOVE all the daffodils.
    Great post – funny and thoughtful. How long did it take you find all your brilliant images?

    Like

    • The reason people were giving you funny looks was because non-drinking people realize flip flops are not winter footwear. I can just see you at a proper English wedding in December in your flip flops not even realizing people are staring because you have your eyes focused on the champagne fountain….see? This is what alcohol does to you. 🙂

      Images actually not long at all…..the time consumption came when I only had one line I wanted to write and needed more to make a post….have really been struggling for inspiration lately for some reason.

      Can’t believe you have spring already! We have buds on trees but we’re still in winter coats…….

      Like

  9. Funny and great post – always the good with the bad. Buds and special newness of Spring is what I most enjoy – the return of mosquitoes is something I can do without.

    Like

  10. thanks for the humor with the cartoons too – like the hairy legs – bah! the Jim vs. bathroom – sneasons’greetings—- and it is so nice to Maxine – have not seen her cartoons in a while.
    and while I love all 4 seasons and we missed winter when we lived in FL – I am looking forward to time in the yard with the dogs – they are missing “chasing shadows” on the fence and in the afternoons I journal out there – to catch a few vitamin D rays – and well, by the end of winter I really miss that little part of the day with them….

    Like

  11. I shall miss winter. I do love it. And I’m pretty sure, Torrie, that you will not shame me for adoring it. Around here, if I toss that phrase out, I get daggered looks that can seriously injure.
    I am so coveting those pink wellies. Mine are standard British racing green and are so sturdy, they have seen me through more than 22 springs. *sigh* Sometimes I hate quality.
    And good heavens, if my woodland paths were adorned with spring blossoms like your last picture, I would happily live among the bees for the pure beauty of it all.
    This was a fabulously funny post. A cheerful easing from one season into another.
    Cheers!

    Like

    • Now that is one sturdy pair of wellies! I don’t think I’ve ever made it through 10 years with a pair of footwear! Am glad you enjoyed the post…..it’s not my usual and it’s not one of your gems, but it was a nice diversion to get me looking forward instead of just saying good-bye to winter! 🙂

      Like

    • Hah! Yes, you’re right. I once met a man named Snow and I thought how much I wished that were my name, but Winter is also a very good one! I hadn’t even thought of that when I saw your blog!

      Like

  12. OK, the lady with the chain saw is a treasure. The look of determination on her face is priceless and I have just the person in mind to show this to. Not me, really!! While we were in AZ, the Palo Verde trees were in full bloom and HOLY COW, I’m glad I don’t live there. The allergies were brutal. I guess my system is used to East Coast pollen! Here’s to flip flops and putting away those boots for a long time!

    Like

    • Hah! So glad you enjoyed and have someone to send it along to. That’s really interesting about the allergies out there being so brutal. I thought people went out there for better air!?

      And yes, I’m actually looking forward to some new fodder for photos with the spring; alas, the forecast says 1-3 tonight and 2-4 tomorrow????? It’s 50 degrees here today. Certainly this can’t happen!

      Like

  13. After entirely too many Minnesota winters, I moved to the UK, where spring starts (as far as I’m concerned, with my Minnesota-based definition of winter) sometime in January, when the first wildflowers (the wild primroses, although a few cultivated flowers bloom all winter) show their brave little faces. Nobody else here thinks that’s spring, but it does give a person hope. Then in February the first daffodils come out. Just seeing them is enough to make a person tipsy.

    Like

    • Most interesting! One of the things I was most pleased about moving up here (we have just relocated) was the fact that we’d finally have a proper winter with heaps of snow. However, with as much as I’m looking forward to spring this year (like NEVER before) and now hearing your comments about “entirely too many Minnesota winters,” I do wonder how I’ll feel about things after the next few years…….could be you’ll get yourself a new neighbour out of the deal if my thoughts run parallel to yours! 🙂

      Thanks for popping over!

      Like

Leave a Reply

