DREAMS = OUR REALITIES IN WAITING

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

They say daydreaming leads you to greatness.  After being challenged to share her own daydreams about her ultimate occupation (which of course she did in her own inimitable style), Gluestick Mum has brought me in on the Daydreams Challenge inquiring about my ultimate holiday/vacation. Where would I go? Who would I take? What would we do? Well, thanks to GSM for asking….it’s alot of fun to think about!

Probably no one would believe my actual dream list at this point, but I’m going to share my top three with you now.

I’m not much of a fan of booking tours for vacations. I don’t mind a tour of a building or something, but generally speaking I like to do the planning for our holidays on my own. However, I’d absolutely love to go to Churchill in Manitoba, Canada, and experience one of the Polar Bear Adventures!

How cool (excuse very bad weather pun) would it be to take off in one of these tundra buggies

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

and go in search of polar bears?! I think it would be incredible to see the arctic landscapes of the Canadian Shield and awesome up-close views of the bears! Can you imagine one of these views?

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Or actually being this close?

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Plus, they also say they come across other animals on their tours like: Caribou, Arctic Fox, Wolves, Arctic Hares, Lemmings, Snowy Owls, Gyrfalcons, and other arctic birds. How could anyone not want to see this if they had the chance?

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

It’s the ultimate fox hunt in my opinion!

And, my guys would love the helicopter tour offered by some of the groups there as well!

Yep, definitely this would be a good one for us! It’s on my bucket list!

Barring that, the next great adventure I’d choose would be ICEBERG CAVES…..actually exploring under icebergs!

Again, I’d not be able to manage this one on my own, but definitely I’d trade off the planning for this experience! The one I’m most interested is from the tour at Breiðamerkurjökull glacier and its caves in Iceland.

Okay, there’s the whole issue of the HOLE and getting down into the iceberg…..

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

But once we’re past that……how could anyone pass up the chance to see and photograph views like this!

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

Sadly for everyone, they say these icebergs are getting smaller every year and that these tours won’t be available someday. I’m hoping we can make it there before they disappear!

Lastly, I guess what I’d most like to do is to see more of this world and meet more people I like.  So my last daydream holiday would be a MEETING BLOGGERS ROAD TRIP where I basically just do the whole planes, trains, and automobiles thing all around the world meeting up with all my blogosphere friends.

Google Image Search

Google Image Search

This would certainly take me from one side of this world to the other! Of course, you’d all have to put me up for the night and feed me once I got to you….kind of like a blogging Father (actually Mother) Christmas on his/her trip around the world except it would probably take me the rest of my life to meet everyone!

Yep, I can daydream….it’s just too bad things like jobs, schedules, money, time, and age get in the way of such magnificent dreams, isn’t it?

Passing the challenge on, I’m just going to prompt everyone to pick up this challenge and give us your take on what your ultimate vacation would be.  It’s alot of fun to think about actually. Specifically, though, I’d like to invite in on this challenge so that I can learn more about them:

The Priorhouse Blog

Edwina Episodes

Donna Gwinnell Lambo-Weidner

MeWhoAmI

and The Write Place

75 thoughts on “DREAMS = OUR REALITIES IN WAITING

  1. Oh my God! Your answer to my question was SPECTACULAR!!! How about rather than coming to meet me we meet at an in berg cave because that looks AMAZING! Wowzers! The others are going to have to come with goods now to match your response!

    Like

    • Excellent plan! Though….I will bring up just one small point…knowing what we already know about my guys and ice dunes….are you sure we’re going to be safe adding Noodles into their mix at an iceberg? 🙂 Glad you enjoyed. I enjoyed the challenge!

      Like

      • Oh, it’d just be me. I’d cash in my mum-points and Teflon Man could deal with the kids. In which case the kids’ survival may be in greater doubt than ours. At least we’ve have expertise and ropes on our side.

        Like

  2. oooo – I think you and I would travel very well together 🙂

    Churchill is on my list of things to do too! Although I’ve seen polar bears up close at the habitat in my hometown in Northern Ontario, I would LOVE to see them in the wild. Churchill has been on my list for a long time!! Great choice.

    … and the iceberg caves – WOW! I had no idea and since I’m going to be in Iceland this summer, I immediately looked it up. Gilles & I would need several more days than we already planned to make that one happen 😦 Thanks for the heads-up though because I’m still hoping I can make it happen!!

    Like

    • Joanne, if you do my dream trip before I do I’m going to be insanely jealous again! Then you’re going to have to redo it and take me along just like you did at the Falls! 🙂 (If you do make it to this tour, you need to do your research on photography equipment you need to take along….just in case you do make it this year!)

      Like

  3. Wow, a very brave choice I’d say! Those polar bears don’t look vicious but I hear they can be. It’s a shame those glaciers are melting but after this winter I wonder if that’s still the case, ha, ha!

    Like

  4. I loved those ice caves, how beautiful, there seems to be a bit of a theme with you and cold places! As for your road trip, what a lovely thought, you would definitely have to come and stay here!

    Like

  5. Wow, what an interesting list, Torrie! I’m most impressed by your adventurous spirit and hope that you do manage to accomplish some of these things. I am a bit (OK, a big bit) different: when I had my mid-life crisis, which prompted my long-suffering hubby and me to leave London, we decided to make our holidays come to us and chose to settle in the beautiful Lake District. When hubby gets itchy feet, he goes off travelling with his cousin, but I cannot sleep in any bed other than my own, so no globe-trotting for me. I thus walk, read, write and then walk some more. Normal people must think it boring – but I am deliriously happy. You are welcome to visit any time!

    Like

    • Hah! Being adventurous in spirit, Anna, does not an adventurer make……I’m quite sure I could never do the helicopter tours as my fear of heights seems to get worse every year. And your quest for peace in the Lake District sounds like just my cup of tea…..one of the things I really enjoy about our new place here is the peacefulness! Walking, reading, writing….what more could one need except good company? I will definitely put you on my list of places I can stay when I get to do my meeting bloggers road trip! Also, I quite thank you…you’re the first one that’s taken up my challenge to share your own idea of the perfect holiday…how nice you’re already living it!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Damn. You Northern Hemispherers and your snow pictures. Do you have any idea how long we have to travel to get experiences like that??? Well, yes, okay, we could head south to Antarctica and it would most certainly be on my bucket list if I didn’t have ethical concerns about the environmental impact. Damn that rigid conscience.
    We have a Churchill here, you know. It doesn’t have polar bears. But I did do my teaching qualification through the Distance Ed arm of the university there…
    I’m not much of a one for tours either but having done our own thing on a trip to Fes in Morocco a couple of years ago, my recommendation would be take a tour. So hard……

    Like

    • Oh, am sorry to get you so wound up with the pix……to be honest, though, both of these “snow” trips would take hours and hours for me to get to as well. I guess that’s why they’re on my dream list and not my more practical list. 🙂 I did not know you had a Churchill there! But…..guess what? You don’t need to have a Churchill there to entice me, it would be worth the trip just to meet you, though I probably couldn’t keep up with you and your running/rowing, etc. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Why didn’t anyone ever tell me about tundra buggies. This is so what I need to get up my driveway next winter. I’m going to have to give these folks a call and see if they sell off their inventory every once in a while. 😛
    And oh my godfathers, the ice caves are spectacular! I’d give my left lung to see something as spectacular as those visions in your pictures. They don’t even look real–they look like a sci-fi fantasy book cover. So exquisite, so becoming, so … cold.
    And the visit thing? A total given. You find yourself in Virginia, I’ll find myself making sure you have a marvelous time.

    Like

    • You are so CREATIVE! How did I not think of this when I read of your dilemma this morning?! It’s obviously the perfect answer!

      Will put you on my list for VA. You know, these were supposed to be my dream trips, but this road trip is actually looking quite possible with all the invites from this post! 🙂

      Like

  8. I like your idea of a bloggers road trip – how cool would that be? Trouble is at the moment nearly all my blogging pals are in the US or Canada or Australia, but that’s OK. I quite like the idea of 6 months on each continent 😀

    Like

  9. Your dream vacation list is certainly one that only a cold lover would enjoy. I must admit though, that the iceberg carves would be very fascinating. Thank you so much for nominating me for this challenge. It would be fun to do. I will do my best to get to it before the week is done. 🙂

    Like

  10. The photographs of those icebergs are amazing, that indeed would be something to see. That said, all I can think of is how much I would look like Bambi on ice were I to venture there lol
    The blogger meet and greet, well I’m all for that one 🙂

    Like

    • I think we’re going to have to have a bloggers meet-up in Iceland……most everyone seems interested in this country for one reason or another! Thanks so much for the comment, Mark Winter (am always going to call you by both names cause you have that great last name!)

      Like

  11. Polar Bears! Canada! I want to do that! And I have to say road trips are my fav. Meeting my world-wide blogger friends is something I would like to do also.
    What a day for a daydream…….
    cate

    Like

Leave a Reply

