IT’S A BIRD! IT’S A PLANE! IT’S A DALMATIAN TREE??? Um……

Out and about, driving through Presque Isle State Park taking in the wonderful winter scenery, this was a very eye-catching sight on our route….so much so that I had to jump out and grab a few pix!  

1

I’m calling it the Dalmatian Tree until someone tells me different. Unique, isn’t it?

I’m quite curious about the raised black globules on the trunk up into the branches.   I have no idea what they are or why they’re there.

Wish I would’ve gotten closer to get a more concise closeup to share.  Drat!  But a little cropping, anyway, so you can see that they are raised and very textured…..

2

Any of you amateur tree gurus out there have any knowledge about this?

61 thoughts on “IT’S A BIRD! IT’S A PLANE! IT’S A DALMATIAN TREE??? Um……

    • Am glad you had an idea on the type of tree….after looking up both aspen and birch, I’m thinking it’s a birch. Am very happy for this little tidbit of new info because I love seeing trees and feel much more informed if I can know their names! Still think I might call this one the Dalmatian Tree though! 🙂 Thanks for uplifting suggestion on the new business idea…wish I could figure out how to do that!

      Like

    • p.s. After a bit of reading, it seems the very thing you commented on is actually a very good thing indeed. I’ve only just read that in forest situations where black knot develops on a tree, it doesn’t necessarily suggest that the entire forest will become affected because surrounding trees may not be (and probably are not) susceptible to the black knot spores. The fact that this tree is surrounded by other trees of different types probably means that these other trees will not be affected when the spring rains come and spread the spores from these growths. So this is actually good news!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’m afraid after a few comments and a little reading, we’re now thinking it’s black knot disease. Poor little tree. Alas, I suppose this is just another instance where beauty and danger intermingle in nature. Thanks for comment on the pic….I wasn’t sure at first if I loved it or hated it, but the feedback on here has all been positive so I think it’s a go!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve not come across black knot disease before, it looks very strange. The tree looks like a silver birch to me – did the outer twigs droop down? I can’t tell from the photographs.

    Like

  2. From reading the comments above, it seems you’ve likely sourced the type of tree and potential disease. As a kid growing up in the north woods of Wisconsin, we were surrounded by pines and a great deal of birch. As much as I itched to strip the tree of its bark–because for a little kid it just begged to be stripped–we were informed how fragile this type of tree really was and that it was our job to protect it from insects and disease.
    When I see a tree as the one pictured in your photo, I’m still amazed at its beauty–struggling in health or otherwise.
    Cheers, Torrie.

    Like

    • The woods of Wisconsin, huh? Why did I never put you there in my mind? But it sounds like you had a good set of people “growing you up” to impart such good info to you. So many people today just think trees, etc. are disposable and never give them a second thought. It still is a beautiful tree, though, I agree. I was totally surprised when people said it was diseased. I will be keeping an eye on him to see how he comes along through the next seasons……..

      Like

Leave a Reply

