AND SO IT BEGINS!

Guess what we woke up to this morning?……the first snowfall of the year up here! It’s been coming down since this morning and it’s still going strong.  Right now, there are about 6 inches out there and it looks just amazing!  So beautiful….wiping away the slate of this past year and making everything fresh for a new beginning.

11

Appropriately, we got word today that we are clear to close on our new home! All the paperwork will be signed early next week and we’ll be moving in!

A very good day over here!

73 thoughts on “AND SO IT BEGINS!

    • Yes, we are most grateful for good news! Both my husband and I are out there like little kids with the biggest grins on our faces…..we are definitely snow people! Will probably have bigger grins next week when we have our own igloo up here!

      Like

  1. Torrie, this post made me so happy! How wonderful that you are going to get settled into your new house!! We are too peas in a pod. We will be closing on our house on the 21st and are so excited! Things are falling into place for both of us just in time for all the holidays. Again, I’m SO thrilled for you! Finalizing paperwork never felt better 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, congrats to you too ! It is so exciting…I think it’s probably even more exciting BECAUSE of the holidays coming up….nothing like a good dose of holiday cheer to cap off the perfect house, huh?! (not to mention no more stress about the whole moving thing!) Enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad your house move is proceeding smoothly! I love the image of wiping the slate clean and hope that your new beginning will be followed by a fantastic middle. The snow looks stunning – we are still waiting for ours.

    Like

    • Stunning, yes, that is the word! I am sure hoping for that fantastic middle too after all that’s come before…..fingers crossed! Will be waiting to hear when you get your snow….proper pronouns and all!

      Like

    • Remains to be seen I guess….that’s one of the reasons we wanted to wait on a house, but like I said in my other post, it just HAPPENED so I guess it was meant to be. Will let you know on the other side of this if my feelings for snow have abated at all…..

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for being happy for me about the snow. I realize it’s not a shared passion with some, but there is real beauty in it even for those who don’t like the crunchy newness of it under their feet and the crisp air on their cheeks. For those, I post the pictures to enjoy. As for the house, I still can’t believe it. Probably won’t believe it till I’ve lived there 20 years….I think I’ve mentioned I’m not very good with change…takes me a long time to get my mind caught up to present-day events! But even with that, I’m still feeling the relief that this is finally going to be over and we’ll again be homeowners! I’ve missed that!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Miriam says:

    The snow is moving east 🙂 We had it yesterday. I enjoyed staying home all day in it, and today the roads were fine to get out. I think with snow, it’s all about the attitude. Whether you get out and enjoy it or stay warm inside, it’s better to be happy about it. I don’t always feel happy about it, but I grew up in south Florida and I hated living without four seasons. Snow is magical in it’s own way.
    Glad your house plans are finalized! We’ve moved in the middle of winter, several times. You do what you have to do… hopefully you won’t have a snowstorm on moving day 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t think I could ever handle Florida except to hit Disney World for a week or so! I love to watch the snow from inside too, but today was just a day to be out in it over here.

      Am really glad to hear that someone else has moved in the winter…..I am pretty nervous about that snowstorm-that-might scenario…….will let you know. We’re actually closing a week earlier than expected so my movers aren’t actually scheduled until the day before Thanksgiving. But being only a 3.5 mile move, you can imagine we’re going to be happily carting stuff ourselves back and forth until the actual movers get here to do the heavy stuff. Perhaps that will alleviate some of the worry on the snow if we can pick and choose our times on the bulk of the smaller stuff anyway….Fingers crossed!

      Like

      • Miriam says:

        Remember that worst-case scenarios almost never happen. It will be fine.
        My worst moving memory wasn’t about the weather- it was February and probably snowy but the real issue was that I was pregnant and violently ill with the flu. They moved the house around me, and I crawled out that night and dragged myself to the closing the next day. Now that was a rough move 🙂
        Anyway, I’ll be thinking good weather vibes for you!

        Like

  4. Snow AND a new house just in time for the holidays! That is wonderful! You will certainly have much to celebrate and be thankful for this year. How about that tubing you promised when we visit someday? Now that there’s snow we might just have to make a trip out. 🙂 congrats! Wishing you the best on your final move.

    Like

    • Oh….that phrase…”final move,” that warms my brain and battered soul! And you are most welcome anytime you choose…..we’re already set for ski resort days over here….been shopping quite a bit as son has joined the ski team….OMG! And better yet….we’ve been signed on as chaperones! (Can you chaperone from the comfort of the lodge with a cup of hot chocolate?)

      Like

  5. Love it! And wouldn’t that make a beautiful picture for a Christmas card? Maybe you should combine a pic of yall’ standing in front of your new home and a picture of the lovely snow in a Christmas card! I’m so joyful for you!! Exciting time! That is the one thing I miss the most about living in E. Texas is the lack of snow!! Grew up in it, played and worked in it. I don’t miss having to plug in my car, scrape windshields or shovel, but sure do miss the beauty of it. Have a blessed week, my friend. I look forward to seeing pics of the new home, too!

    Like

    • A very good idea that Christmas card! Thanks for being joyful with us. It has been a very long year for sure on this end. Agree with you on the windshields and shovels for sure but right now am trying to wrap myself in the beauty and majesty of the snow….we’ll see how long it holds. Will share some pix soon.

      Like

  6. I’M SO ENVIOUS!! You lucky dogs, you. Snow. Glorious snow. Oh the whole reason hot chocolate was invented.
    And wonderful news about the house. A happy congratulations to you all. Can’t wait for pictures.
    Many thanks for the crystallized ones above. I shall remain dreaming and hopeful.

    Like

  7. Congratulations! Glad you have such a positive outlook on the snow! How many inches did you finally get? Just a dusting here, but the temperature suddenly down in the teens.

    Like

    • Thanks, Sparrow. We got about a foot here in one day but haven’t had much more since then. The wind seems to have turned all our snow to Buffalo. I think even I am not ready for 7+ feet of snow at once!

      Like

  8. Gosh, it was a long walk down here to post my comment! So glad that your house move is imminent (or maybe even finished by now). Snow…. sigh…. I love the stuff. I haven’t seen any for four years now – so thanks for the beautiful pics that reminded me of just how beautiful it is.

    Like

    • House move now complete such as it is…we’re knee deep in boxes and have no idea where anything is, but we have finally come in for a landing, thank God! I have a feeling I’ll be able to provide you with plenty of snow pix this winter…..today is a nice 58F but this area gets hit pretty hard with snow being so close to the Lake so I’ll do my best to keep you supplied over the next few months!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful, I’m so jealous! We’ve just been teased with sleet which is no fun and kinda hurts if you look up and get one in the eye whilst you’re checking if it’s snow or not. Damn the little shards! Still, fingers crossed I’ll wake up to the London version of your view soon! And good luck with the move!

    Like

Leave a Reply

