THE VIRTUAL BLOG TOUR CONTINUES…

Courtesy of Google Image Search

Last month, Juls from The Indecisive Eejit nominated me to continue the Virtual Blog Tour. My first thought was PANIC!   A virtual blog tour….I had no idea what this was or what it entailed.   But Juls kindly gave me almost a month to prepare so I was grateful for that.   What I’ve discovered is that a virtual blog tour is aimed at highlighting refreshing and creative blogs (and their bloggers) to the blogging community at large to, in turn, inspire, motivate, and just get acquainted.   Okay, so not being sure that I’m inspiring or motivating in any sense of those words having basically just begun in this whole blogosphere thing, I’m going with the last one…..getting acquainted.

The three rules of this tour are as follows:

  1. Compose a one-time post which is posted on Monday (date will be given to you from whoever passes on the tour)
  2. Answer four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do.
  3. Pass the tour on to up to four other bloggers. Give them the rules and a specific Monday to post.
  • What am I working on?
  • How does my work differ from others of its genre?
  • Why do I write/create what I do?
  • How does your writing/creating process work?

So here goes:

1

What am I working on?

This implies that I actually have some grand plan in mind or some wonderful novel I’m just waiting to dash off at the appropriate moment.   Sad to say, this is not the case.   As I sit here writing this, I’m still trying to recover from the perils of the past year and get some kind of plan for my future figured out.  My blog is the place I’m bringing some of my new discoveries to looking for feedback, both on photos and writing.

Having left my writing club behind in Saint Michaels when we moved, I’m also involved in trying to set up my own writing club here. My aim is to connect with senior citizens in this area and get them jotting down their memories for their children and grandchildren thereby also imbuing them with a meaningful diversion that of course they’ll all be very good at – writing/talking about themselves and all the things they’ve lived through.

I really enjoy working with seniors. I find them always anxious for some new way to stay involved, inspiring in their resilience, and a wealth of information about the past. I think this will be a venture of great purpose and hopefully I’ll bring something new to the community here.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Again, this implies that I actually have some novel pages in my head waiting to be written out and published. I surely do not.   But in speaking of this blog, I think my blog is a bit different because it was originally set up with the purpose of bringing my writing from that club in Saint Michaels to the cyber world. I don’t see a lot of memoir groups around. I think it’s a grand idea and one we should all try to get our parents/grandparents to do.   People just have no idea how much they missed before they arrived on their family scene.

For my own “work” on this blog, I just really enjoy writing. Since our move this year, I’ve really missed the writing club and I’m still “finding my feet” on here blogging….so, I’m still in an experimental stage I guess just trying to figure out what people enjoy and what they don’t and what I really like to write about!

Why do I write/create what I do?

When I was in that club in Saint Michaels, all the other members were senior citizens and then there was me in my 40s. They had all the history in the world to share in their writings and the only thing I could do was to try and take a different approach…sometimes humour, sometimes banking on my younger approach (i.e. One prompt we had was MANNERS. I took that and wrote about cyber manners – a view I knew none of them would dare to approach).

On this blog, I started with the writings from the club and I’ll still be doing writings from that club and hopefully my new club.   But I’m also adding a few more random posts about things that come to mind (my own prompts, if you will).

How does your writing / creating process work?

That really depends on what’s prompted me to write.   Sometimes, I just need to get something down on ‘paper’ and I’ll sit here and type straight from my thoughts (similar to the Stream of Consciousness posts I see on WP) and then go back looking for typos.   Generally, I sleep on it to make sure nothing else comes to mind before I post it. And then, of course, something else comes to mind and I have to revise.

However, if I am working off of a prompt, I generally let the subject stew in my brain for days until THE ANGLE makes itself known. Once I get THE ANGLE, I have a pretty good idea what I’m going to write.   At that point, I just sit down and write and usually…..I end up in a totally different place than I thought I was going. LOL.   After that, again, I try and sleep on it and see what else comes to mind before I go with it as a final.

If I’m really stuck on a prompt and THE ANGLE doesn’t care to make itself known, I might perhaps at least get a phrase or an idea in my head that I want to use.   I’ll sit down and write that phrase or idea and just see where it goes as I write.

And the tour continues…….

My special thanks to Juls again for the nomination.   This is the last “award-type” thing I’m going to take on on here, but she’s followed my humble blog from almost the beginning and has been a total inspiration to me with her own double blogosphere she has going on in addition to everything else she manages to handle in her life so I’m participating in this one for her.

I follow many different types of blogs all of which, I think, have something really unique to offer.   With that said, there are blogs that won’t accept awards, don’t have time right now to take part in this, or are too shy…believe that or not.   Even narrowing it to blogs that aren’t too shy, will accept awards, and do have time, I still only get four picks out of so many that are truly written by gifted people. In the end, I’m going to bring to your attention four blogs I haven’t highlighted before which I think you should check out.   If they decide to pick up the mantle of this tour and carry it on, that would be awesome and they should continue the Virtual Blog Tour on 27 October 2014 by posting the answers to the above four questions, etc.

Little Miss Menopause, in case you can’t tell by the name, has a most unique perspective on life and her blog is almost like a trip to the virtual literary amusement park! One of her more recent posts tried to point out the similarities between football and fashion.   Loads of fun!

Naptime Thoughts has a most enjoyable blog. Some of her stuff has me falling out of my chair with laughter.   I would call your attention to the Fat Lady and the Bicycle and Naptimethoughts Goes Roller Skating as two very good examples of her humour.

Cheergerm  is a neat little blog that upon first look seems to be just another cooking/recipe blog.  But a closer look and you’ll see these wonderful stories wafted in between the ingredients of delicious meals and snacks.   Reading and eating?  It’s totally a win/win!

Marla over at A Pendulum World has a very new blog and some really interesting perspectives.   I especially enjoyed her post comparing weeds in the ground and our habits!

27 thoughts on “THE VIRTUAL BLOG TOUR CONTINUES…

  1. Well done. Not sure I could competently answer all those questions. (I rarely know what I’m doing or why.) I love the sound of your writing group. So often our elders leave us and only then do we realise we don’t know as much about our past as we thought we did. Getting them to write all that stuff down is a great idea. 🙂

    Like

    • Exactly…so much is lost when people don’t take advantage of their elders’ experiences and oft times, older people are even written off as unimportant since their hey day has come and gone (so younger people think). It’s all important and if we can get it written down to be passed on throughout the generations then I think that’s probably the best social networking ever! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’d love to hear more about your project with getting senior citizens to write down their memories. What a fantastic idea! Geneology is something that I’ve recently become very interested in, and I think passing on stories for posterity is the best gift one could ever give. How have you gone about finding those interested? What’s your process? Id love to try doing something like that here, if not now, then eventually. This was a fun read! As always, enjoy your writing…and now knowing a bit more about them! So glad you shared!

    Like

    • Oh, you want to talk about family history? You wouldn’t believe the project I took on a few years ago getting family photos all xferred into a digital history to be passed down. Right now, that project has 32,000+ video/photo files. It’s a great heirloom in my opinion. As for the writing club, I contacted someone in my new area that is well-connected. He’s given me some info on senior centers, assisted living facilities, and the local library personnel that could help me with this. I haven’t contacted any of them yet, but that’s where I’m starting. I just got this info about 3 days ago so very much still a work in progress. But I look forward to it. It seems like a great way to start up here by connecting with some of the seniors and probably a very good way to spend the winter! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I could really relate to this post and how my writing gets from the ‘idea’ to final stage. It is often a twisted and unpredictable route.
    Like the others before me, I too love the idea of a seniors writing group. So often the world forgets that they were young people once who lived extraordinary lives. Everyone has stories to tell … even if they think they don’t.

    Like

  4. Loved your answers! It was so fun to learn more about you and how you write. Thank you again for including me! I will start thinking about my answers to these questions! 🙂

    Like

  5. Loved reading about your writing and thought process. One of the nicest and unexpected benefits from blogging has been meeting other cool bloggers such as yourself. What a great community to be a part of. Thanks so much for the beautiful words and mention of my wee blog. Super kind of you, I like you, think the idea of these awards are wonderful but getting to them can prove difficult and finding others who want to do them can also be tricky. I will certainly attempt to do so, even if I ‘break a few rules’ when doing so. (Hope you are cool with that.) Thanks again, from the bottom of my cheergerm heart. 😊

    Like

    • Am definitely cool with that…..I think everyone should be reading your blog, by the way….it’s lots of fun and so YUMMY! Take your time on the response and get to it when/if you can…this whole blogosphere is meant to be enjoyed not a chore! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Perfect writing project and I think in the end will become one of the most rewarding that you do. I’m hoping to read that you branched out and perhaps visited some senior homes and had a go for it!

    Like

  7. Beautifully handled, and expertly answered. It’s always enormously fun to get to know a little more about the writer behind the words.
    I love the fact that you’re working with seniors (or have and will again) to tease out their treasures and leave them for others. I can only imagine the joy that it has and will bring to those who choose to participate. I hope you’ll ease into your new writing clan, and that you’ll find fresh inspiration among those folks who surely have a few yarns to spin.
    Cheers!

    Like

  8. Haha, I laughed when you explained your writing style. To find that right ANGLE has to be one of the most difficult things I think!

    I LOVE your goal to get involved in helping elderly write down their stories. I think this is about one of the greatest things I have heard! I too have always had such a heart towards them. In college I would go visit at a nursing home once a week and I left a piece of my heart there with those beautiful souls.

    I hope when the kids are a bit older to start taking them with me to visit. Perhaps one day I too could help some to write their stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

