EXCITEMENT OR A WORRY?

Well, things are slowing down in our world just a bit.   We’re under a week to go until the buyers close on our house and we’re making a last trip “home” today to put the finishing touches on the cleaning and grab whatever odds and ends are left.  

Last night, my husband suggested we get out the bikes and take a little jaunt around the neighbourhood here.   Husband and I haven’t had our bikes out since we left Maryland.  Son had been out and about quite a few times before school started here, but hasn’t been out much recently with the reappearance of homework and texting girls.   So we took off for a little ride just to rediscover our “biking” muscles as opposed to our “moving house” muscles. 

Just a short distance from our door, we happened upon a fire hydrant. 1 (1)

Fire hydrants aren’t normally a point of interest I realize, but check out that post on the back of it.  It’s taller than me.   Having never seen anything like this on a fire hydrant before, we were making guesses as to what it could be. 

Looking closer, we saw this on the top of the post:1 (2)Okay, so obviously a marker of some sort.  At first, we thought perhaps being at the end of the cul-de-sac here and on a lower elevation, it was to mark it for cars driving around in the dark.   However, there is not a reflective coating on the post or the little sticker.   Also, we happened upon more of these markers along the way on our bike trek all at different elevations so we knew it probably had some other purpose.

After finishing our bike ride, I came inside and decided to do a bit of Googling on this marker.   Imagine my surprise to find out this marker is installed on all fire hydrants in our area to be able to find them in the snow!

Now I’m sure you’re all aware of the fact that I’m a snow person.    I love snow and can’t wait for winter.   One of the things I’ve most looked forward to in this move up here to a Great Lake area is seeing what Lake Effect snow is really all about.   As a matter of fact, only yesterday, I was on here trying to convince Sasha (see the COMMENTS section of her post here) of the glorious attributes of the winter season.   All that said, though…..a marker like this, taller than me, is a little daunting to my mind.    I’ll have to update this with pictures of this post in the winter after a good snowfall or two. 

I wonder what the rest of you would think if you happened on one of these where you were living….would you feel excitement or dread?   

38 thoughts on “EXCITEMENT OR A WORRY?

  1. Oh my gosh! That IS tall!
    I love snow too (I get stupidly excited and a neighbour once caught me bounding down the street in my pjs and coat a 2am because I wanted to be the first to tread in the crisp new fall of the white stuff). But I think even I would be daunted at snow that deep!

    Like

  2. friend phoned last eve from Scottsdale, Arizona about the flooding…..maybe the markers would have alerted them. when Neil calls from Colorado with over 6 or more ft., I wonder how they enjoy that beautiful country. Buy snow shoes, lots of logs and books, food for Spencer, maybe a snowmobile and enjoy the winter beauty. is going to be interesting and remember we are just a chat away

    Like

    • Oh, I love your shopping list! Snow shoes, logs, books, lots of food…not sure about the snowmobile…I once drove a forklift and almost took out a building….so perhaps we should rethink the transportation aspect…..a dogsled, perhaps?

      Like

  3. That’s pretty interesting.You know, as a native New Yorker who moved to California, I have to say, I do miss the snow, especially when I think about my children who never saw snow. What I don’t miss, is the aftermath, shoveling, slush, black ice…

    Like

    • Wow….children who never saw snow. Now I admit that is not something I ever imagined! How sad for them. And yet, it will be something left to discover when they’re older and traveling, so that’s okay too.

      Alas, you are right…..shoveling, slush, black ice, etc….those are all the downsides of snow. We will have to see how this goes up here and which lasts longer…the magical blanket or the diabolical aftermath…….hmmm.

      Like

        • Wow. Big Bear looks wonderful! Actually, it looks alot like some of the resorts out this way. We have a son who lives in Southern California now and he says he can’t imagine living anywhere else….he loves the mild weather there and can’t stand coming back here in winter months! I would love to see pix if you do make a trip to Big Bear….even in the summer/fall months it looks like it would be a real haven!

          Like

  4. I love it! Oh, to have that much beautiful snow, and the sheer giggle at needing a marker that high to find emergency services. I’m still laughing.
    I wish your first winter there to be a gradual easing into the “norm,” and that your moving muscles and biking muscles don’t end up becoming shoveling muscles.
    Can’t wait for the pictures!

    Like

    • Hah! Shoveling muscles, that’s true, I hadn’t thought of those! However, after all this moving and all the days of moving-house muscles, I think I’m going to leave the shoveling to my men here. (Do teens count as men yet? Do teens do productive things like shoveling?) Well, anyway, will deal with that when we have to. Right now, I’m just going to imagine that the shoveling fairies will come and magic away a path for me out the driveway!

      Like

  5. Oh my – I knew right away what it was as soon as I saw the picture. Good thing you like snow.
    Me? … not so much. I’d be happy if this fall type weather stuck around until February and then spring started.
    I too have been hearing stories of dread about this coming winter. Please, no. That’s all I can say. Please, no.

    Like

    • Hah! Leave it to you know what these things are. I love the fall weather too, I agree. And after last winter, yes, I can agree…..we must hope that it’s not that horrible kind of winter again. Yes, we want beautiful snow but we can certainly do without this whole polar vortex thing and cold like that!

      Like

  6. What really worries me is that firefighters have to get out their shovels and dig up the hydrant and then warm it up so the water inside isn’t frozen. How do they keep people’s houses from burning down while they’re doing that? Maybe you could ask them. Have fun driving a snowmobile to the grocery store in the winter, tho! I’ve actually seen people do that in Wasaga Beach up here.

    Like

    • Wasaga Beach..one of my favourite places, but I never really thought what it would be like in winter…..I can’t imagine they use snowmobiles! How interesting. Agree with your concerns on the fires and the frozen plugs…I will have to let you know what I find out on that one!

      Like

  7. We had posts that high in Eastern France, but they were to show where the road is when it gets covered with snow. If it snowed that much here (South of France) the locals would probably die of fright – I haven’t seen snow here (apart from one hour of what my kids dismissed as “dandruff”) since we moved here four years ago… Much to my disgust, because I loooove snow.

    Like

    • Oh….how sad to be so removed from snow. But how cool to say, “Oh, I live in the South of France!” I am highly excited for this winter, but I do have a feeling that I’m not aging as gracefully as I’d like and I might not feel the same about winter up here after this first one. I think I just might put South of France on top of my list as back-up plan!

      Like

  8. I’m standing here in our 56 degree kitchen shivering, reading your post, dreading the fact that winter is upon us. I suppose if it has to be cold, why not just dump a ton of snow? We don’t usually get that much snow where we live, but we certainly get the cold. I prefer the cold AND snowy days to just the plain bone-chilling cold ones. My kids would certainly be jealous, especially if you have a sledding hill close by!

    Like

    • Exactly…..if it has to be cold, we definitely need snow. And I’m right with you…I want the snow not the bone-chilling cold without it. We do have some hills here, but I haven’t found one suitable for sledding. I’m sure my son will be clued in once the snow shows up…..if not, we’re 20 minutes from a big ski resort…..we’ll be there alot I’m sure. You should bring your boys over and we’ll have a day of snow tubing. They would never go back to sleds after that! 🙂

      Like

  9. Oh how fantastic! I did recognise it as my sister lived in Switzerland for a few years and they have markers too. It’ll be absolutely wonderful especially since you love snow so much! I’m looking forward to hearing how deep it gets!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  10. Wow! A North American who loves snow! You’re my first one. 🙂 Obviously, we don’t get snow here. To experience snow, one must “go to the snow”. Even for a day trip (which we can do at a pinch if it’s a REALLY good winter because it’s only a little mountain in a day-trip distance), one must still hire or purchase appropriate clothing as there is no need for snow boots and ski jackets/suits on an average winter day here. It is time-consuming and expensive. Hence, the boys have only ever been once and as the youngest was in nappies at the time, it is not something they all remember. (Youngest Son asks every winter if we can go to the snow but I am always so daunted by the prospect, it doesn’t happen. Maybe next winter…)

    Can’t even fathom walking out your door to snow that deep.

    Like

    • I once spoke to someone who grew up in Las Vegas who told me there were mountains with skiing three hours’ drive north of where she grew up. Do you live in some place like that? And in the American Midwest they got overnight lows of -50 F a few nights last winter. Not snow but potentially fatally cold.

      Like

      • I’m in Australia. Southern Victoria, to be more precise, so we do have some mountains. The nearest one for snow is 3 hours away but it’s only 1400m high so it only gets snow when it gets really cold and it’s only cross-country skiing. A mountain with downhill skiing is another hour away. It’s still only 1800m so we still need a good winter. We get excited if we get more than a metre of snow on our mountains. 🙂

        We had one day this winter when it actually snowed in my area. Not right where we are but down along the coast and in the hills. Highly unusual.

        Like

    • Truthfully, I can’t imagine walking out my front door to something that deep either! It is a bit daunting to be sure. I know exactly what you mean about seeking out the snow. In our old home, we were in a place that seemed to miss the snow every time it showed up. I used to get so frustrated and actually we did start taking short day trips to various ski resorts for a day on the snow. I always said “We must go and seek snow!” The funny part is, here I am 20 minutes from one of those very ski resorts that we used to scramble to in our efforts to seek the snow. Life is strange. Do highly recommend you taking those boys out while they’re young though and letting them experience the snow. Everyone should have the chance to make snow angles and do a little tubing while they’re young! 🙂

      Like

  11. Haha, I love it!! It is most fitting that you of all people would live in a state with such a contraption! 🙂 Thanks though, I have been getting excited for all the new memories to be created this coming winter, thanks to you. . . AND I do not think we have any such fire hydrants around here so my winter must not be all that bad. 🙂 😉

    Like

    • Am glad to have made you rethink the winter thing…I know it’s not everyone’s thing but there is magic to be had there too and I’m glad you’re not closing your mind to it anyway. As for the contraptions…..I’m really not sure whether to worry or be excited yet……just going to wait and see how it goes….

      Like

  12. OMG! That really takes me back! I grew up in North Dakota and the year I left and moved to Texas (1997) we had a record breaking snowfall in Fargo, ND. The stop signs were covered up…and you had to “inch” your way out into the intersection to see if cars were coming! I believe we had 155″ of snow that year and some serious spring flooding – that being said, I have never seen one of those markers!!

    I’m not sure why I’ve missed it – I’m so bad at keeping up with my blogging buddies, but how come the move?

    Anyway, I love snow too…but at the age I am, I’d rather be in this HOT climate than back up North. I don’t miss all the shoveling, bundling up in winter or having to scrape ice & snow off my car windows! I had gotten quite weary of it all. I move a lot slower now…in this Texas heat!

    Good luck!

    Like

    • Wow! 155 inches, huh? That would really be something to live through! I’m not sure if I’m ready for that much snow here or not…..guess we’ll just see how it goes. As for how come the move…..long story. I wrote it up in a post called Status if you want to go back and have a look at it, but short story is the move to MD turned out to be a total disaster for my husband and I (while our child flourished!) so this was the answer heaven sent back! I could not be handling your Texas climate or your bugs that can be saddled up! I think I’ll try it up here and see how this goes……thanks for luck, need all we can get!

      Like

Leave a Reply

