STATUS

1

For those of you unaware of my current status and wondering about my absence of posting on here in the past few weeks…..we are in the middle of a major relocation.   Last year in August, my husband took a new position, we put our house on the market, and moved to Saint Michaels, Maryland, right on the Chesapeake Bay. However, being a girl not too great with change, I didn’t adjust too well to being so far out of my element.   The little town we lived in is picturesque, lovely, and a hot-spot for artistic and nautical tourism in the summer but the rest of the year it’s very, very quiet (by quiet I mean the entire place was dark by 8.30p, not a house light in sight except mine!) and very removed from anything I consider civilization. My son’s school there had I think 39 kids in their graduating class the year before we moved there.   Now that is a SMALL school! It was a great year for him with tons of individualized attention at school and the small-town girls going crazy for him, but for me it was very different and very difficult.

From Saint Michaels, it’s about an hour drive to get to Annapolis (major city where I could get a decent beautician, any sort of normal shopping, a good meal not involving seafood, and see traffic and families our age) incurring a toll on the Bridge (this would be the famous Chesapeake Bay Bridge) and a lot of fuel every time I made the trip. Being so far removed from all my family, we had no backup or anyone that could get to my son if needed so I wasn’t able to feel comfortable enough with that amount of time to do that trek while he was in school in case something would happen either with him, with me getting stuck in traffic on the Bridge, or some other weird fluke (I know I’m a worrier).  So I was pretty much consigned to staying “on my side” of the Bridge and there just wasn’t a lot there that I needed.   Add to that the fact that most of the people who live in Saint Michaels year round are of the 70+ age bracket and I found myself in my forties living the life of a retiree.

Enter Mary, who if you’ve read my previous post (found here), you’ll know was my ultra-cool, always-up-for-anything, 80-year-old next-door neighbour, now my BFF, and the one who invited me to writing group where I embarked on this new hobby.   Mary and this wonderful close-knit group really did save my sanity I think. It gave me something to focus on and a new outlet for growth even when I was living in a place so foreign to all I knew. It also gave me people I “knew” and a better group of people could not be found anywhere I’m sure.   Although they were all much older than me, they embraced me and encouraged my writing and made me feel a vital part of the group.     For me, that group was the hardest thing to leave behind with this move.

Anyway, currently, we’ve made the move from Maryland back to Pennsylvania to a place about 2 hours north of where our home is outside of Pittsburgh.   My husband asked his new company for a transfer to get me back on home ground and him out of a 2-hours-each-way daily commute to work in Washington DC (yet another fluke perhaps we’ll go into another time) and it finally came through.   But I guess to be accurate, I should say, my son and I have made the move. My husband was involved in getting us physically moved and set up in the new rental property, but he is now set up himself in a hotel in VA for the month of August while he trains his replacement.   Sound confusing yet?   Well, let’s take it a step further.

relocate home

In the middle of all this prep for our relocation, our house sold.   Hence, in addition to trying to leave one rental, set up a new rental, enroll in a new school, get different state/facility certifications for my husband’s transfer, deal with utilities, get our bearings, and set my husband up in Virginia in a hotel, we now have to clear our house and get our stuff into a storage unit somewhere.  

When we put the house on the market, the realtor told us the house would show better with our stuff still in it, so we moved to Maryland with our house intact and us taking only the bare minimum with us.   So we have a house we’ve lived in for almost 20 years still basically fully intact (meaning we have a whole lot of junk to wade through now). Just to make it a bit simpler for you……currently, we are living in 2 different states and meeting at “home” on the weekends to try and pack it all up and get it out of here by mid-September when the buyers want to close this deal.

So dear readers, that’s my world right now. Am quite sorry for the absence on here, but know I’m doing my best to keep up with your writings and commenting when I can.   We’re very tired and working from the time we get up in the morning till we collapse at night.   We’re living surrounded by boxes and indeed, still living out of boxes, and even packing new boxes!   I will update as I can and indeed have a little story from yesterday I’m going to try and get down on here soon, but bear with me while we try and get some semblance of normality going on and get us all (and our stuff) back together in one place (or at least 2 places relatively close together since the house furnishings will have to go into storage until we decide if we want to buy a new home in our new location!)    3

Photo credit again given to a quick Image search on Google (no time to take my own pix lately! I wonder why….)

47 thoughts on “STATUS

    • Yeah, adjusting not really my forte….I like all my ducks in a row….right now, I’m just trying to be content with all my stuff in boxes and not worry about the rows so much, you know? Ugh.

      Like

    • Thank you and yes, I can well imagine that scenario….am also thinking, why in the world would I ever buy another house? Actually probably much easier to keep all my clothes in boxes at this point, huh?

      Like

  1. Oh girlie! What a spaghetti mess! i am sorry for the upheaval – believe me, I know all about uprooting, rerooting, uprooting, temporary to permanent to temporary life. It is so unsettling, particularly for a “cat on the hearth” type like me. I like solidity and security. My moving days are, hopefully over. You have my deepest sympathy, and also complete understanding about your absent posts. Blogging, while thoroughly enjoyable, is also very time consuming. Particularly for folks like us who read and reread and proofread and reread and nitpick our own work … I never was a slapdasher. From the beauty of your own writing, I well know you are not either. We’ll still be here when you return to life as normal… no worries, mate! MH

    Like

    • Ah! I should’ve named this post SPAGHETTI MESS! I wasn’t very original in my title and you got it in one! But yes, unsettling is the word and cat-on-hearth-type is definitely me too. Thank you so much for your words of support….it’s good to know I’m not alone in all this and others have survived! At this point, that’s about all I’m hoping for!

      Like

  2. Sasha says:

    Wow, talk about a workload! I am so happy for you to finally be back close to family though!! I have been to Pittsburgh once–it is a great place!

    Like

    • Yes, I knew I wasn’t going to do well being away from the parents, but it was SO MUCH HARDER than I thought. Pittsburgh, well, it’s just a way of life even more than a place. The Eastern Shore was a totally different way of life and a good life. My son loved it there. It ripped me up to have to take him out of there, but in this case, 2 out of 3 wins, you know? He seems very happy to be going to our new digs…..had a visit to the new school the other day for orientation day with the rest of the freshman class and he’s already ogling up the “new” and more populous crop of girls….OMG.

      Like

    • I’m surrounded by familiar sites, young families, good bike riding area, and 2 hours from home. I think we’re gonna be okay….if we make it through all this “spaghetti mess” as MHD called it! Thanks for your support!

      Like

    • Am trying to just focus on the settling thing right now…that this will happen and eventually, we’ll have one place with all of us in it and things will be a new normal and much much calmer. Thanks for good wishes!

      Like

  3. Gosh – you’ve had it all going on and on for quite a while. It’s a miracle you’ve even managed to get the blogs you have already written out! Let’s just hope this next upheaval gets everything on an even keel again and you’re much happier and content with life – hard I know in the meantime, but we’re all with you 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, thank you. You have been quite a big inspiration to me with your anticipation and excitement of your relocation…you’re moving alot further than we are, so I sit here and read and think…’Well, if they can do that……” Fingers crossed for both of us!

      Like

      • That’s the power of the internet! Do it together! We’re in Jasper at the moment seeing the Rockies & it’s absolutely wonderful scenery – and warm! I’m not used to heat!!!!

        Like

        • Wow. You have to start posting some pix of your scenes there….outdoor photography like that is one of my “things!” I have never been “out west” and would love to see some of those sites you’re seeing!

          Like

    • Ahhh, yes….now that would be great wouldn’t it? Just search up a new house, search up a moving company, search up anything. Yes, that would be so great. Am almost ready to say we should put you in charge of the world…..

      Like

  4. So glad I discovered you through MHD (she’s great!). My life has been similar to yours – living amongst boxes is unsettling for sure. Good luck with getting everything back to normal. All the best. ~Karen~

    Like

    • Oh, my! Thank you so much for popping over and for the comment! How lovely that MHD is responsible for us getting to ‘meet’ on here! I very much look forward to having a little browse around your blog as well!

      Like

  5. Yikes! To think I have been complaining about trying to sell my house and move a block away amidst the arrival of an exchange student from France and a daughter leaving for university. I will definitely try to curtail my whining.

    Like

    • Wow. You have it all going on over there too! I certainly don’t have the market on whining…..you just feel free….am thinking empty-nesting and a foreign language barrier in your house is quite enough without all the rest of it!

      Like

  6. Best wishes for your transition. We are currently in a single-wide in the UK, soon to move into a rental house when furniture arrives from the US, then will house hunt here and get our furniture out of store here. Don’t know which way is up so I know how you feel!

    Like

  7. So that’s what you were talking about in your comment on my blog post! Wow. And I thought _I_ had it tough living in a room in shared accommodation with not many possessions and little money to acquire more. Your story actually makes me glad I’ve always travelled light and can pick up stakes any time without much trouble. I have significantly more empathy for people of means now–and I guess I should take back what I said in my comment on your home page about the lovely countryside you were living in. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, can definitely say I surely do wish I “traveled” alot lighter than I have for the past 20 years. OMG> Am going to have to turn over a new leaf in all this and begin to purge I think! And yes, it’s true, we are no longer in Saint Michaels, but we have moved to another “Bay” town area and it’s also quite lovely. Am very much looking forward to discovering what Lake Effect snows are like this winter! Winter definitely my thing! Thanks for finding the post and commenting.

      Like

      • We get lake effect snow constantly here in Toronto, Canada, which is on the north shore of Lake Ontario, about 30 miles as the crow flies from Niagara Falls (although driving there takes an hour and a half of travelling _around_ the lake). It looks just like any other snow but falls more often, especially when it makes no sense for snow to be falling. I predict you’ll actually get a lot more snow that we get here, being so close to the ocean and at a relatively low latitude. But cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, tobogganing and snowmobiling are fun ways to get around! I’ve never had to use them myself, but about 500 miles north of here they have actual snowmobile highways that run parallel to the automotive highway and are used by rural residents just to get around in the winter. And in Wasaga Beach, which is only about 70 miles north of here but gets lake-effect snow from Lake Simcoe, I once saw people cruising down the middle of a snowy residential street in their snowmobiles.

        Like

        • Oh, you are from my favourite country! I love Canada and get there any chance I get. Toronto we have been to and also Wasaga Beach that you spoke of! Thanks for info on the lake effect snow…I really am looking forward to that. Best thing about this new temporary location is that we are north, close to Canada so perhaps I’ll get to see the falls frozen this year, and the winter activities that you describe…skiing, etc. We are very close to a ski resort now, so am hoping to be able to take our son there often (he is 15 and dying to try snowboarding). As for me, I’m not much into the skiing, etc., but I love to take pix so I am happy to have chance to get some great winter shots this year. Would love to get up there and see snowmobile highways! Have never heard of this. Furthest north in Canada we’ve ever made it was to Bracebridge. But there is still hope….It’s my goal to visit every province before I’m done.

          Like

          • Ironically, although I’ve been all over Ontario thanks to a family vacation back in 1982 (as well as a later trip to James Bay), I’ve only seen Montreal and Winnipeg otherwise. I’d like to see the east coast, especially Newfoundland, which is more developed and urbanized than people think but still has a great deal of beautiful scenery and rustic areas in it. Newfs are wonderful people, too–very down to earth and easy to get along with. Maybe someday.

            Like

Leave a Reply

