THE WHOLE WORLD IN OUR HANDS (CLUB PROMPT – HOLDING HANDS)

Driving home from the pool, Mom grabs my hand as the car door flies open and I almost fall out…..
PROTECTION

Age 5, holding the hand of my younger sister, dressed up for church in our winter coats and furry winter hats to match….
WARMTH

Clasping hands with the reverend as we leave church….
PEACE

With my Gram’s encouragement, tentatively taking the hand of Donald Duck on my first trip to Disney World….
LEARNING TO TRUST

Clinging to Dad’s hand (and leg!) from our position on a tall overlook at a theme park…..
SAFE

After alighting from our car, seeing a dead pigeon on the sidewalk, and getting a bit woozy, Mom latches onto my hand and moves me quickly ahead to keep me from fainting onto the cement…..
STEADINESS

Holding hands with my best friend and jumping up and down as the boy I like notices me…..
EXCITEMENT

Shaking the hand of my principal as I graduate from high school….
CONGRATULATIONS

My husband and I, at our wedding, join hands…
A PROMISE FOR THE FUTURE

Shaking hands with my new boss….
I HAVE A JOB!

Mom taking my hand and talking about the future when I lose my first child……
HOPE

My newborn son wrapping his all his little fingers around one of mine….
THE BEGINNING OF UNCONDITIONAL LOVE

Taking up the hand of my small son and leading him into school…..
LET ME GIVE YOU THE WORLD

Touching the tiny hand of my brand new niece….
MY SISTER’S FINEST ACHIEVEMENT

Holding hands with my brother as we dance at his wedding….
THE PAST WATCHING THE FUTURE UNFOLD

Gripping my grandmother’s hand at Christmas and watching her eyes light up when I tell her that I’ll have a present for her sometime next summer….
JOY

Clenching my husband’s hand as I labour out our second child…..
MEETING NEW LIFE TOGETHER

Rubbing and patting my hand when Mom sees me after the birth and knows the baby is okay, but I didn’t fair too well….
UNDERSTANDING

Discussing the responsibilities of caring for a dog with my older son and shaking hands to seal the deal….
AGREEMENT

Seizing my son’s 16-year-old hand as he is ready to board his plane for Germany and his first big experience without me….
NOT READY

Joining hands around the table as we sit down for our Thanksgiving feast…..
FAMILY

Holding my second son’s little hand as we drive away from the university and he cries for his older brother watching him disappear to a new life through the window of the car……
CHANGE COMES

Arriving just in time to pick up the hand of my grandpa now in a coma….
IT’S OKAY TO LET GO

Taking the hand of my grandmother when I visit her because she’s on her own now.…
THE HUMAN TOUCH

Squeezing the hand of my new daughter at my oldest son’s wedding.…
ONE MORE PERSON TO LOVE

Fearing to hurt, I oh-so-lightly brush the pads of my fingers across the back of the hand of my youngest son’s 10-year-old, cancer-ridden friend, now bald and pale with translucent skin wrapped around thin bones. His breathing is labored – so shallow. It’s been a short fight and he’s leaving us……
BECAUSE WORDS FAIL

Tightly gripping hands with the mother of this withered child knowing that God is waiting to receive him…..
REASSURANCE

Offering my hand for my young son to lead me onto the dance floor at his ballroom dancing class….
PRIDE

Holding the hand of my grandmother in hospital knowing it’s the last time….
SHE IS NOT ALONE

Taking Mom’s hand as she buries her mother….
SYMPATHY

Squeezing Mom’s hand and touching her face after her stroke…
BECAUSE I STILL CAN

Holding my little boy’s hands as he says good-bye to his dog….
EMPATHY

My young son’s trembling hand reaching out when his birthday arrives to shake the miniature paw of his gift – a tiny, 5-pound puppy….
A NEW BEGINNING

Allowing me to crush his hand with both of mine and wrapping his other arm around me, my husband and I stand on top of the Eiffel Tower in the face of my fear….
SUPPORT

Beginning with a handshake when I meet my new neighbor after I move to a new place…
WELCOME

My husband takes my hand as we drive down the road….
TOGETHER

20 thoughts on “THE WHOLE WORLD IN OUR HANDS (CLUB PROMPT – HOLDING HANDS)

  1. Agnes Watko says:

    I like the way you call attention to emotions with each of our life’s daily doings…..now I know you are truly a beautiful soul…..Agnes

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  2. Sasha says:

    This was beyond beautiful. From happiness and laughter to tears and heartache, each hand sharing a different emotion all so much a part of the human existence. I absolutely loved this, words cannot describe.

    Like

    • Yes, it is. I don’t think I realized how much till I wrote this. We had our class yesterday and I was totally surprised at what kinds of things the other members wrote….I would never have guessed that the prompt “Holding Hands” would have elicited such a wide-range of emotions!

      Like

  3. I love the format of this. It’s almost like a movie of life, and there is something so gripping in those moments of touch (gripping, yes, our language reflects the importance of touch, too). A beautiful post.

    Like

    • And right now….even on those hardest of days like you just posted about….you are creating all these same sorts of memories for your little space monkeys…someday, they’ll be able to write their own paper on holding hands and it will all start with what you’re doing right now……. Thanks for the lovely comment!

      Like

    • Am so glad you enjoyed it! And better late than never (I’m constantly going back on other people’s blogs and finding these great posts they did and then I comment on them thinking they just wrote it since I just discovered it…..then I realize they wrote it 2 years ago or something! Funny. You’re not late at all! I’m just glad you found it! Thanks for lovely comments!

      Like

    • Oh, thank you! What a nice comment. And yes, I was actually surprised when I heard the collective efforts of my writing group on this subject. I didn’t realize myself what a powerful subject this would be! Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment.

      Like

    • Oh, gosh, thank you so much! It means alot to hear this touches other people too. I love your comment “a work of life art…” That’s one to put in my treasure box and store forever! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

